Sundial Circles

I don’t have enough time to spend.
I don’t have enough time to lend.-
A helping hand, commands again the eyes of one who looks within
and finds that love and faith and friends are things whose end
begets more pain. Without the hand, the eyes are turned away and lies, like dreams, are kept at bay – at least for another day.

There is not enough time to spend
on things unseen, on helping clean
the mess humanity’s made of dreams
that maybe humanity actually has the means
to grow, to know, and to see the real.

I don’t have enough time to spend.
I don’t have enough time to lend.

I feel the weight of time on me and to my dismay it is directly
proportional to the amount of ‘days and nights’ and ‘six o’ clock’s’
and ticks and tocks I fear, and hear, and know are real.
This moment is gone; as is this one and this one,
and this sun, won’t be the next sun, or the next one, and on and on.

I don’t have enough time to spend.
I don’t have enough time to commend
myself for things attained, so gained with pride. And I,
I’ve lied and played the game – to make my life seem full
to eyes whose lives are just as full as mine. My memories
divide – entwined with thoughts of would and could – but why?
If alloted is this time, should I not make the most of mine?

But I could wish (or try and try) to rewind that which
cannot rewind and smile and grin and know within that I could
always go that extra mile. But my mind is sane, and I’m on this
train no matter if rain, or shine, or pain.

I don’t have enough time to spend.
I don’t have enough time to forget.
I was given a ticket about 19 years ago.
I think I’ll stick it out and know
that this time that was given me
was experienced appreciatively.

I don’t have enough time to give.
I just want more time to live.

Log in to write a note