A story

Today I decided I would buy a token instead of refilling my metrocard.

I bought an additional one as well to hang on a necklace, later. I dropped my token into the cold turnstile and pushed the metal bar till it rotated all around and I was inside of the train station.

I walked down a short flight of stairs, then another till it took me to a corodor.

It had the smell of rain, and dirty staglitites hung from the ceiling. I wondered if they would ever fix this train station. It was old, turn of the century tiling and it really was starting to show. If only the rats had to pay subway fare too. The city surely would have a surplus in a week.

Walking along I finally reached the platform I needed.

I looked at my watch and so far I was making good time. I really wasnt in more of a rush than usual, but good time is always good time.

I leaned over the edge of the track to see if the train was coming. The dark tunnel showed no sign of light what so ever. I took a seat and looked up at the ceiling. It led to a vent that actually led out side to “fresh” air. I could hear the surface transit quite well. A sharp car horn sounded like it was right above me and scared me out of my seat.

I leaned over the edge of the platform again and this time the tracks were making that familiar sound. It sounds something like cords popping, or maybe a whip being used. The tunnel filled with a wind and I knew the train would be coming around the bend at any moment. The sounds and wind grew louder until finally I saw the beams of light coming from the train head.

I stood back from the edge of the platform intimidated by the size and sound of the aproaching coach. It pulled into the station with a final siren like screaming of the breaks.

The doors did their usual “Bing Bong” and opened to let the passengers out and it. Since it was the weekend I wasnt knocked over like I usually am during the weekdays. I took the seat right by the door and grabbed on to the metal pole. I leaned my head on it and the train took off.

Soon, I was nsync with the rocking back and forth of the train. Since it was express it would be a quick ride. A few bumps in the tracks made me realize it would be better just to sit up straight instead of having my head subject to inconsistant banging on the pole.

I looked out the train window and watched the station pass by. I could see people on the local platforms sitting, walking, pacing. the train sped on and soon we were neck in neck with another train on the tracks. The trains were so close together I could see the people inside the next train,and I saw a peddler trying to sell batteries and other little goodies, too. With the trains so close like that it almost seemed like they would hit together for sure, but they didnt. As we approached the next station the space between the two trains got wider and wider until finally we charged into the station and the platform seemed almost water like for how fast we were going.

The trained once again screamed its way into a parking postion and I jumped up. This was my stop!

The doors bing bonged open and I quickly walked out of the car. I sped up a pair of tired dirty stairs. The sun was fairly weak that day, but my heart was so filled with joy. I walked out of the train station and was met by a refresing breeze. I walked over a block onto Delancey street and went to the bodega on the corner.

Log in to write a note
February 1, 2003

Oh, nifty! Id ask what happens next- but I dont think youre going to tell me 🙂 -H.

And an expressionless note right back at you to, m’dear.

February 17, 2003

why thank you!!!