11/01/2011

Well it’s that time of the year again.
National Novel Writing Month. And this year I’m going to actually ‘win’. Or I say I am now, and I have every intention of doing it, just we’ll have to see if like allows it. I managed to crank out just over 5000 words today. I wrote this morning, afternoon, and typed away this evening during commercials while watching TV. I think part of the high word count is I tweaked the format of the page in Word, so it’s more like the size of a standard paperback, and is two pages per view shall we say.  It’s easier to imagine someone reading, and judging how the flow is that way.
A big help is the stack of index cards i have. Instead of stuggling to go scene by scene, I have a punch of major plot points, random scenes, bits of proposed dialogue, and the like, organized out and in a row. Once I write what’s on the card, flip it and go to the next. Obviously there’s scenes in between some of the cards, but either way it’s great for me to know what I have coming ahead. I think I’ve used like 8 cards, and have like 80 left. I should easily make the word count goal for the month to win.

YAY! FUN!

I’m hoping I can keep the word count up, since technically you can do 1667 words a day. This way I have already two days worth of word count built up, and if I do that most days, if something does come up, it shouldn’t hit me too badly.

I’m really rather stoked. I like my story, like my characters. Even downloaded the free 30 day trial of photoshop to make some things. I’m using Starbuck/Kara Thrace from BSG and Renee O’Connor as my main character visual models. I toyed with different ladies, but somehow those two seem to look good together.

Going to have to get to bed wicked early tonight since I’m driving Mom downtown to apply for a job. Then we’re walking around the docks and stuff. Exercise, and seeing if any place is hiring. Must get jobs.

Log in to write a note
November 1, 2011

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOHHH! MAGICAL WORDS!! KARA THRACE AND RENEE O’CONNOR!! LOL