10/05/2011

 
Possibly starting a remote transcription editor job. It’s with a real legit company, allows to work from my house or wherever, set me own hours, and won’t negatively impact unemployment, or a full time job. Only issue is, the work is not guaranteed. There could be twenty projects one week, and zero the next. Also it’s a 1099 sub-contractor position, which means come tax time I’ll have to pay taxes on the money. Unless it’s under $600, then I believe by law I’m not obligated to claim it. 

I can’t see a downside to the job. Sure paying the taxes would be a bitch, but it’s not like I can’t pass up a chance to at least make what I’m currently making and doing something kinda fun. Plus if I do manage to find a full time position I can still keep this job and make extra money on the side. I talked it over with my father, (speaking of him I have to mention other things, note to self) and he says go for it. I talked to Demon about it, he said the same thing. 

The job is rather simple for someone like me. It’s subtitling videos and audio. Computer software does a first draft, and I’d go in and edit the transcript. Since computers can’t do it perfectly, it’s a lot of grammar and punctuation, and technical and slang spelling errors. Correct those, add who’s speaking, and that’s it. Get paid per minute and difficulty of the file. So if the file is 10 minutes long, and it’s a mid level at $1.00/minute that’s 10 bucks. If it only takes me a half hour to complete… seems like a simple enough thing to do.

Obviously, there will be a bit of basic research needed to find the proper spelling of the technical words, and people, but I enjoy that stuff. And I’d get to learn from whatever it is I’m editing. Like the application video I had to transcribe word for word was on dark matter. That was interesting. I like learning things. I’m used to reading and editing, since I do it most of the day anyway. Well I read all day, the editing is what I’m guess rather basic and well within my abilities. I guess being a good writer, and a knowledge junkie is going to pay off.

I’m rather excited. I don’t expect to really make much more than I’m getting from unemployment. But at least I get to actually earn the money. It still bothers me beyond belief to be on unemployment. It’ll also look good on my resume, and I’ll be able to probably get other editing jobs since I’m currently doing it. Perhaps I’ll even manage to get a couple different freelance things in a few months that will pay enough to live on. 

Truthfully, this is something I’ve actually always wanted to do. And if it seems to be paying off I could always make a business type thing out of it, and then write off expenses to off set the taxes. New computer, headphones, speakers, stuff like that. Marketing costs. 

Yeah, kinda liking this idea. Now I’m just waiting for the email with my account info to come in, then I do the training modules (which I have no doubt I should be able to pass easily), a basic phone call with someone from the company, and then I can do some projects. 

Log in to write a note