08/27/2011

Is it wrong to be amused that while I live in Florida I haven’t seen a serious hurricane since I’ve lived here (7 or so years?), and yet now my beloved New England is going to get thrashed? I’m amused. Worried about my family of course. For sure my grandmother’s basement is going to be majorly flooded I think. The house in kind of situated on a shelf. Like…

_____Houses Up Here______
                                                       
                                                           Grandmother’s Backyard
                                                          
                                                        ___Grandmother’s House___
                                                                                                             
                                                                                                                 This is the driveway.
                                                                                                               
                                                                                                               _________ Street

So all the water from the top, flows down the incline to the house, flooding the basement. There’s some kind of underground spring/well whatever pretty much under the house, so lots of water builds up. Damn basement is always wet. I hate it down there. Gives me the creeps. And it’s not like I’m just afraid of basements. I lived in our basement when we lived there. It was sweet. But we lived on flat ground, and had a subpump that we turned on when it rained hard to keep it from flooding.

I hope someone goes over there and stays with her and my aunt. Sure my aunt is there, but she’s kinda getting up there in the years too ya know? One of my cousins should stay over, keep them company. Maybe my aunt’s boyfriend/fiance/whatever he is these days, will stay and take care of things. Someone better be there, have enough sense that an 80 some year old woman and a late 50 something year old woman shouldn’t be home alone in the middle of a hurricane. At least the water and can goods have always been at the top of the basement stairs, so no need to go down there.

Well crap, what if my grandmother decides to stay with her nearly 100 year old friend that she takes care of? Yes, that’s right. My elderly grandmother takes care of someone even older than she is. Takes her grocery shopping, to the doctors, helps her with cleaning the house and all that stuff. My grandmother should have someone helping her do that, but no she helps others. I swear my grandmother is a saint. Honestly. She’s been honored by the Catholic Church for her decades of service, has a nice shiny medal and everything. If there was every a normal human being who would be a saint it’s my grandmother. I’ve never heard her a raised voice, a mean word, a negative thing come from her mouth. She believes in the goodness in everyone. You would think that being such a devout Catholic that she’d ya know, be more like the fire and hell and sin kind of person right? But nope. It’s all about love. The way it should be.  I miss her. She’s so cute, and little. Like 4’8, and chubby, with a halo of white hair and a smile for everyone.

So, yes, someone better be there to take care of my grandmother during the hurricane.

Log in to write a note