05/13/2012

Work is getting on my nerves. Or shall I say people I work with are getting on my nerves. They moved the unit I’m in back into the other building. We’re not our own special division, separate from the rest of the company. And because I’m now apparently doing the double-checking all the time, I’m mixed in with whose guys, as opposed to being on BBL’s team. There’s two units within the division. The two accounts that are a pain in the ass, and the rest of the accounts. We’ll say A Team and B Team. I’m B Team. BBL is in charge of both teams for the entry. Anyway, Team B double-checkers are only three people (myself included). I’m good with the other two. LL is in charge of us, and she’s cool if a little shall we say aggressive sometimes with her answers at times. Team A double-checkers are all annoying, loud, and disruptive. All they do is talk, all day long. Never about work. It’s sad that I can hear the whole conversations all over my headphones. Though I choose to ignore, and pretend I don’t hear it. Even when LL tries to get my attention I act like I didn’t hear her at first and it’s only when she moves that I take my headphones off. I don’t know how much of the constant chatter I’ll be able to take.

And I miss BBL. She’s only a row away, and I still see her and talk to her. I’ve been helping her with suggestions on how to re-vamp the division and make it more user friendly. Before we moved buildings, she would come into my room and we’d talk every morning. Discuss problems that were going on, issues that popped up over the day, I’d let her vent that they were driving her insane with their bitching. She was mentioning that she wanted/needed another person to help her manage the team. One person can’t possibly be in charge of that much shit. And since it seems like I’m the only one willing to step up without complaint, it’ll probably be me. Which is all good for me. She knows I was the one in charge of the training team, even if the dude was the one technically in charge. She knows I was the one dealing with it. She knows I was WG’s right hand, and that I was DT’s right hand. And I don’t bitch and whine all day. As I told her, "BBL tell them to put on their big girl panties and suck it up. It’s corrections, there will always be corrections. If they did it right the first time around they wouldn’t have anything but minor typos to fix. And honestly, if it’s one or two little things I’d fix it myself and not bother them with it. Tell them to suck it up. If they don’t like it they can go and do something else."

We had a whole discussion about how most of them refuse to step up and take more responsibility. I’m shocked at how many errors the main team is getting. They’re not taking any pride in their work. My trainees are getting less errors, and have a better understanding, than the main ones. The enterers are going to have to shape up. They’re in the process of developing a way to track errors better. We’ve been rather lenient with the official amount of errors. Not for much longer though. I’ve already mentioned to BBL that one has no idea what he’s doing, and the other isn’t doing her corrections properly. I don’t think the other two double-checkers talk to BBL about the enterers and what they’re doing wrong. And since we were always giving the work back to the enterer directly, BBL wouldn’t know what was going on. That’s going to have to change. She can’t help someone if she doesn’t know they need help. Then again I’m thinking some are beyond help and need to be moved out.

Anyway, enough about work. I got most of my room packed and moved. All that’s left to pack is clothes, and my bathroom stuff. Bathroom stuff is mostly all going to have to stay out. I still have a week before we fully move. I have to pack 90% of my clothes. I’m going to keep out enough for the week, but pack the rest. All the odds n’ends are packed. I have some pictures to take off the walls, but that’s really it. The house is looking nice. The landlord got most of the stuff finished. Have a mover booked for Saturday morning to move the furniture. Sunday the cable company comes to give us phone/internet/cable.

I have a grand plan of having the current living room TV in my bedroom (since we bought a used but way bigger TV for the living room). I’m going to put the TV on the dresser, and use it as a monitor for my laptop. My poor laptop is getting old and beat up. Then I can watch Netflix all the time. I’d have to buy a wireless keyboard probably. I have a wireless mouse, so the keyboard can wait. It’ll also be nice to be able to play video games all the time again. I miss video games. 

And today we’re meeting up to go to Demon’s restaurant for Mother’s Day. It’ll be nice to see Demon.

Time to get up and get shit done. I want to have everything done so I don’t have to worry about it all week. Work is stressful enough without knowing I have a shit ton to do when I get home.

Log in to write a note