03/09/2011

I hurt all over.
I hurt in places I shouldn’t hurt.

As I got out of my car this morning to walk into work I popped a piece of gum into my mouth. Few seconds later I pulled out pieces of my tooth. The stupid damn tooth that I’ve needed a root canal in for a year. Finally started to break into pieces. So I’m in pain first thing when I walk in the door.

I’m a few minutes early, so I wait to clock in. A different assistant manger/manager whatever he was guy had to help me override the system since I wasn’t scheduled to work. Then he tried to open the door to the training room. Well it wouldn’t open. Guess it’s been jammed since late last night. So I got hauled into the managers office to do my CBLs. By 9 I had all of the ones in orange done. Got approved to go on a 15 minutes break. Went out to my car since I left my cigarettes and stuff in there. Carefully smoked a cigarette and called Mom. Let her know my tooth broke and to try to see which dentist I have and explain to them what happened to see how much down time I would need. Went back in.

Met my sponser/trainer guy in the meat department. My training consisted of him telling me to load boxes onto a hand cart thing and to stock the shelves. Oh, and of course rotate the stock around, old in front new in back. So I did that until 12 when he came back to send me on another break. Came back in, grabbed my cart, got most of it done before he came back again to get me to clock out. I guess I’m even one minute over my six hours I’m screwed and the system will automatically flag that I have to clock out for lunch and an hour later back in from lunch before I can clock out for the day? I dunno. I haven’t really been trained. I still don’t know the basic shit.

Oh, and I got my training binder. Not sure what I’m supposed to do with it. Guess I’ll bring it in tomorrow. Along with my box cutter and sharpie.

But oh my god my whole body is sore. My knee, the bad one, is throbbing and stiff, my feet ache, my shoulders. I haven’t done manual labor like this in a long time. I’m constantly moving, lifting, walking, kneeling, twisting, all that. I’ll have to get a locker. Need advil and to keep my stuff in it all the time. Cigarettes too. Easy than having to trudge to my car constantly. Am I even really allowed to go to my car on break? No idea.

I don’t even know what the window for clock in and out. I guess clock out make sure it’s before the 6 hour mark, but for in? Most places have a three minute window, old job had an 8 minute window. Plus or minus xminutes, otherwise it’s over or under the scheduled time. No idea. I have no idea what’s going on at all. I suppose the only way to know is to ask questions. I can. Or I can quietly figure it out with my super awesome spy skills.

Working again tomorrow. Not really sure what I’ll be doing. I still don’t have a fucking schedule. How long does it take? I may have a life ya know. I was going to go out of town this weekend. Not even sure if I’ll be off at all. I’m not good at only have a day in advance, I need to know what my week is. I can’t take this not having an idea what two days out will be. I keep checking online, but so far nothing.

Log in to write a note

I was in pain too. **** pain!!