01/26/2011

My blood tests came back within the normal limits. I’m fine, my liver is fine. Not really sure what caused it to be elevated in the first place. So, I’m good. Just need to go back in 3 or 4 months to get tested again. Also I have to see the doctor instead of just popping in for lab work. I don’t ever see the doctor unless I have to, I’m deathly ill, or hurt, or my brain is fucking with me so bad I can’t take it. So, it’ll be interesting. I’m not sure if I’ll be getting a physical or something. I doubt it.

School is now in full swing. I have two tests on Monday, and two quizzes. Joy. I’m really only worried about Algebra. I’m going to spending the entire weekend with my white board (16"x20" board that works great for doing math problems, since I can erase ten times easier than paper, and it’s bigger so more room to work and such, it’s great), doing an obscene amount of problems. I’m pretty good for some of the topics, linear equations and the like, but the imaginary numbers I always have trouble with, and inequalities. I’ve decided that my problem with math is not doing the problems, I’ve always been good at math, I just hate it, and mess up.

See, I was reading on the Kindle forums, that one mother was so happy that her child finally wanted to read. The kid said she hated reading because the size of the book and all the words on the page would overwhelm her and she couldn’t do it. And with the kindle you can’t tell really how think a book is, and by bumping up the font size there’s not a lot of words on the page. I think that’s my problem with math.

If I try to do the problems in the back of the book, I look at all the problems I need to know, all the equations and shit, I get overwhelmed. Online problems from the mymathlab course thing I only see one problem at a time. I can do it, I can focus only on the individual problem, and not on everything else. It helps. For the test I may try to block off the rest of the problems with a sheet of paper. All the problems kind of scare me ya know. It’s too much.

Either way, for the extra bonus at the end of the semester, I need to complete all the problems for each section. So, lots of problems. Like a few hundred. I’m tempted to cry.

Today is a review day though.

And then working on the Enlightenment era during Humanities, and chapter 3 or 4 or both during Bio. Must get through 4 if we’re going to do the test on Monday.

Have I mentioned my Bio teacher is adorable? She’s fascinated with my last name. Happens to all my science teachers. I got a tinkerbell sticker on my first homework with a WOW! Everyone else got those boring square stickers that say "Good Job" or something. I got Tinkerbell. I’m special. And yes, I do find it odd but adorable that our college professor is putting stickers on assignments. She also puts a smiley face on her exclamation points, and goes off on tangents about something. Funny.

Well, I should go figure out what I’m going to wear. It’s a chilly damp day, so warm clothes and shoes that don’t squeak on the floors. And shower. And pack a lunch. I’m going cheap and not spending money at the campus cafe, nope I’ll bring my own food.

Log in to write a note
January 26, 2011

wait, what is your last name? I’m nerdy science person, I might be fascinated with it too LOL