the land of no return

found out recently the acreage my brother-in-law gave my spouse has a new issue. The land has been deeded to us, we are in the process of having it professionally surveyed (for a variety of reasons) and have discovered the fence between our property and our neighbors is in the wrong location. Apparently, our property extends about 8 feet beyond the fence into the neighbor’s property. I don’t care. But it could cause potential issues down the road. The surveyor mentioned something about existing fences could not be removed due to some OK law (don’t know about that). So we’ll either have to build a new fence, leave the fence and do nothing except place the property stakes at the correct locations, or offer that portion of property at fair market value.

I’m going to do research about OK land laws and fencing. Give me something to think about.

and…..speaking of the property. My spouse had initially told our daughter he would give her one acre and asked her to pay for her surveyor’s portion of his work to plot out her acre. She said okay. What he didn’t tell her was he needed theĀ  money as soon as the survey was done because he had told the surveyor he would be paid once the job was completed. So my spouse expects the money. Our daughter thought she could have my spouse tell the surveyor she would pay her portion in two installments on her credit card and my spouse doesn’t want to do that. So spouse gets angry. Daughter gets fed up and I’m in the middle, again. Now she doesn’t want anything to do with the property (spouse hasn’t heard this yet). Spouse doesn’t want to give property to daughter (she hasn’t heard this yet) and I get to hear the BS from both sides. My spouse asked what I thought should be done, but he didn’t really listen because he only wants it one way. All he cares about is he now has to pay $300 extra for the survey. I’d like to sell my half of the property and run away. but I won’t.

Log in to write a note
August 21, 2022

That sounds very uncomfortable.Ā  Ugh.Ā  I share your sentiment.