Magical cell phones

The last couple of days have been very smoky here.  About 6 miles away a brush fire started and it was large enough, fast enough for the county to send out evacuation warnings. We received about 3 evacuation notices. But we were far enough away that we only had to be on alert. We received the alerts on our phones and I was wondering what about individuals that don’t have cell phones or internet service. And the text messages were cryptic with only a link to a website that wasn’t easy to navigate to locate the map that showed the actual evacuation area. Definitely needs improvement. If you need to run for your life, who has time to go through a bunch of screens to find the correct evacuation requirements. And speaking of cell phone service, I was watching Moonfall (I think that’s the name) yesterday on HBO. I started the movie about halfway through. Anyway, the moon is skimming earth, gravity is crazy, space debris is wiping everything out, but yet, everyone manages to contact everyone else with their cell phones. How does that work? Magic of Hollywood, I guess.

Log in to write a note
October 11, 2022

😂

I love your observations.