Breath through your nose

I’m in the process of having dental work done, starting with cleaning and then moving on to other aspects. So my hygienist is doing my mouth in sections so I don’t have to stay in the chair for so long. I’m not sure if she’s doing that for her or for me. But, no matter. It’s been years, so there’s plenty of work to keep her busy. The first session was okay. The second session, not so great. For some reason, with the chair tilted way back, it seemed like the suction tube wasn’t sucking up the liquid fast enough. It would pool in my mouth before draining down my throat and down the side of my mouth onto my neck. However, the hygienist said it was my fault because I wasn’t breathing through my nose. It’s hard to breath through my nose upside down while liquid is making me gag. I’ve got one more session with her and then I’m done with cleaning for awhile. She definitely goes overboard with everything, so I’m sure I’ll see her again in 3 months. Plus I think she’s been at that clinic for many years. The dentist that checked my fractured tooth told me she would fill it in and then scheduled another visit. And the hygienist was “confused” because that was a tooth that was slotted for a crown. And she didn’t understand why the dentist was going to replace the filling. I didn’t know and I didn’t care because I knew that it would be fixed at some point anyway. Maybe it needed to be filled until the crown had been made to fit the tooth because of the length of time it took to make the crown. I don’t know. But I could almost read the hygienist’s mind…”that new dentist does not know how we do things around here, she’s too new/young/inexperienced….” Don’t want to get in the middle of it, so I just rinsed and spit.

Log in to write a note
September 11, 2022

It hurts me to smile at the rinse and spit part!  Oh what a necessary evil is the dentist visits.  I remember when hygienists just came in, cleaned your teeth, and left.  I hope you are done for way more than 3 mos.  😎

September 11, 2022

My dentist is my cousin. 😛

October 11, 2022

Isn’t it funny how so many nurses, assistants, doctors, dentists … know exactly what YOU are doing wrong. It’s happened to so many before you and it is never their fault. 😂

I had a gum infection because of poor dental work. I messaged the dentist. She sent me a You tube explaining how to brush my teeth. Nothing to do with her causing an infection.

Enjoy the break. Perhaps you can think up some pithy retorts.