at the store and more

waiting in line at the deli counter to get some pastrami and ham. I’ve got all day. Not in a hurry. Unfortunately, the woman ahead of me was in a rush. She starts ordering from a list. I’m wondering if the list was written by someone else because she seems to have a hard time deciphering the brand names. I realize everything she wants is currently on sale, so get a clue, Sherlock and double-check the listed items in the counter that are on sale. But, that’s just mean. And when she orders one item, she scurries off, mumbling something about multi-tasking. And wouldn’t you know it, once she is gone, the counter person has a question. So we have to wait until she returns. And then she orders the next item, and scurries off again. Her next item is ready and we have to wait until she returns. But I’m not mad or angry or pissed off. I just wait my turn. Because my turn will eventually come. I’m just glad my spouse isn’t with me. He would have reacted differently. So she comes back again and starts to make small talk with me about the high cost of everything and I agree. And then, and then, it becomes political and I’m ever so grateful her last item is ready to go and she can leave, because I do not want to listen to someone give me her political point of view. Yes, there are many people receiving monetary help from the government in some for or another. But I also know many of those individuals truly need assistance. And some are questionable.  However – No ma’am. Not today Satan. Her point may be valid. Or not. But she stretched my polite store behavior to its maximum capacity. After that lovely shopping adventure, I chose to do the Walmart run another day for cleaning supplies. Who knows who or what I’d run into there. I’d be so stressed, I’d probably wind up buying a bunch of candy and I don’t need that.

Log in to write a note
August 4, 2022

You have the patience of a saint!  Amazing how some people can turn even sliced ham into a contentious commentary.