I always fail at that whole “update” thing.

I’ve been home since uh… Tuesday night.

And oh boy was that an adventure.  This big extreme winter storm hit pretty much the southern half of the state, which I wasn’t expecting to hit before I got home… but it did.  I could’ve died, but I didn’t, so I guess it’s not worth angsting over anymore.

But my job since 6.30 the following morning is essentially snow removal.  So first day kinda sucked because I was shoveling about 4 inches of snow down here… the next day I did some inside work (this is the same job I had over the summer, only since ther was no snow over the summer I was planting flowers and maintaining the grounds then).

Then yesterday hit.

It started snowing Thursday night at I think 11.30 or midnight.  I don’t know, I was asleep extremely early, knowing full well I’d have to leave extra early.  Because it snowed from then until just past noon on Friday.  And I got to work at quarter after 6, went outside in my thrice-layered legs, quadruple-layered torso-and-arms, boots, hat and gloves, and shoveled the back sidewalks, stairs and paths, then the front sidewalks and paths alernatively over and over and over again until just after noon when, finally… it stopped snowing as hard.  It stopped while I was on lunch.

Then I had to go to 2 of our other sites and shovel out the dumpster corrals and in front of the doors and garages.  Which took the entire rest of my shift.

My. Back. FUCKING. Hurts.

I don’t do physical activity.  I’ve complained about this multiple times, but never before have I appreciated just how useless my frail and scrawny body really is.  I mean, my back FUCKING hurts, and the rest of me just… hurts a lot.  Murr.

But it’s fun being home OTHER than that.  People are kinda on the verge of going stir crazy, since there are two families living here who are used to their on things, but we’re managing.  We’re all broke, Isaiah’s kinda driving everyone nuts sometimes, but when he’s not he’s probably the cutest toddler I’ve seen in a long time, and sleeping arrangements are starting to get irritating.  But we all still seem to kinda like being close around the holidays.

I needed this weekend.  I feel like this break is going to be nothing like a break at all… but we’ll see.

I should go to bed soon though… Manda’s exhausted and sore.  Last night was the worst, but I’m not doing a whole lot better tonight.

Log in to write a note
December 23, 2008

Audrey loves and misses Manda.

December 27, 2008

In town where? I am in milwaukee

January 2, 2009

You need to update my love.

January 7, 2009

if you update more nifty things will happen. 🙂