original sin

why would God have made us with this ‘original sin’? why is it that we are inherently evil and without a soul? it just seems so wrong to me?

i want to believe that we are inherently good. this definitely contradicts the Christian belief. Why would we need God if we are inherently good? is original sin just a self perpetuating notion to keep the faith alive? doesn’t it beg the question of the need for Jesus, God and Christianity if original sin did not exist?

But original sin definitely goes back to Genesis from what I can see. Eve was tempted by her own pride. The snake said something to the effect of: You can eat this fruit. You can become one with God instead of below him. He want’s you to eat it… otherwise he wouldn’t have put this beautiful tree here in the Garden of Eden.

Eve, sucumbs to her pride, her weakness, and eats the fruit. She then shares it with Adam. Therebye bannashing both of them from the Garden of Eden…forever.

What I think God was so pissed off about was not that they broke the rules that he set out for them…but that he knew that the prevailing reason why Eve gave into her temptation was the excitement and the thought of being “one” with God. She thought she could be equal to God if she ate that fruit!

Is that really unlike our own desires today? This story seems so antiquated and archain today. But is it not the underlying reason why so many of us fail? Do we not all seek to control our lives?

Well, I know that I am guilty of this in some form.

Log in to write a note

Aww no not at all, at first I thought you didn’t even want notes and I was like hmm you can fix that so you don’t get them. Maybe its just me I hate it when people read my diary and they don’t leave a note or even just sign their name so I can go see their diary, maybe its just me. Grr. Hehe, but no need to apologize… just mis-communication, no biggie! Hehe, I’ll stop by more often. Neele

March 5, 2004

i know it’s sooo confusing

ryn: i don’t really think it’s a cry for help.. i just needed to do something before i drove myself insane.. it happens a lot.. it’s just a way to get my emotions out w/o cutting or something of the sort… don’t worry i’ll be fine.. thank you for so much for ur note 🙂

This is good. I like they way you express things. And thanks for your note. I agree.