germany/denmark/sweden…reading?

I just came back from a really interesting trip to Germany, Denmark and Sweden. Supposedly this was a holiday…and in a way it surely was. However, I kept noticing that I felt rather stressed and uneasy the whole time. I mean, how often do you get the feeling of saddness for the people you are staying with…that they have so much happiness they could be enjoying…rather to somehow settle for what they unfortunately don’t want to change? Of course, they have their reasons, but for someone who has worked so hard their life to retire, and the other who worked so hard to live a life that is of no substance, to see them battle it out the way it is now seems so detrimental to everybody involved.

I guess it’s part of growing up and all…but sometimes I’d just rather not grow up at all. I’m starting to enjoy reading classics of english literature. I started with "Catcher in the Rye", moved on to "Wuthering Heights" (Emily Bronte)  and now I’m reading Oliver Twist’s (i think) "Gulliver’s Travels." The people of Lilliput are quite interesting I must say!

I’m thinking of starting a little book club to talk about these books…they are all quite good…but rather difficult to understand at times. Especially the old language which is very difficult to understand sometimes.

Log in to write a note

That’s hilarious

August 5, 2005

that’s Jonathan Swift…not Oliver twist…HA HA!

August 25, 2006

I loved Catcher in the Rye. Enjoyed it even more 20 years later. Oliver Twist is quite a character too. Reading classics is mind expanding in a very strange way.