The girl on the side of the road

 

I did something I never thought I’d ever do tonight. I picked up a hitchhiker. I was on my way to a friends house for one of those party’s where they sell books that you aren’t obligated to buy, but by agreeing to go to the party, you really are agreeing to buy (I detest them).

The girl on the side of the road looked exactly like my nutritionist from when I was at Castlewood last summer. That’s actually the reason I pulled over, I thought it was her. If it was her, I was going to take it as a sign that I needed to get back into treatment. A man had pulled over to help her too, but she felt more comfortable getting into the car with me. I couldn’t figure her out at first. She was dressed in a casual summer dress. A very pretty girl, but her makeup was streaming down her face, and she was slurring her words. I wasn’t sure if she was drunk, or maybe on drugs? She had a large purse and every time she reached for it I tensed up waiting for her to pull out a gun (I’ve seen way too many crime shows). It turns out she and her boyfriend of three years had been out to eat at a Mexican restaurant several miles away. They had gotten into some kind of argument and he had left her at the restaurant with no money, cell phone, or any way to get home. I guess she just started walking. By the time I got to her she was super dehydrated and pretty out of it. I took her to her house (a mansion), and just dropped her off. I don’t even know her name. Now I’m curious, and want to know more-like who she is, and if she’s okay. I’m tempted to go back to her house and leave a note with my contact info, or maybe card for our church. I feel like there has to be a reason why I ran into her today…..maybe I’m just reading too much into something random. She just seemed so sad. I wanted to rescue her.

I ‘m learning that I have some sort of "fix it" mentality with people. I’m not sure when I became this way, but in the last couple of years I find myself becoming really emotionally involved with other people’s problems. Like stay up all night, can’t focus on anything else (even my own problems) until these people’s problems are solved. Maybe it’s my way of avoiding my own reality?  It doesn’t even always have to do with "problems". Let’s say you and I were teaching lessons on the rainforest. I might go out and buy a ton of stuff on the rainforest and then give it all to you pretending that I don’t need it, or that it’s extra. That doesn’t even make sense. I do stuff like that ALL the time. Sounds like a good topic for therapy. 😉

My cousin just got diagnosed with schizophrenia. My heart hurts for her and her family. She was admitted into a mental hospital earlier this week. She is claiming that there is no God, because she "is god". The final straw was when she was driving over 100 mph last week and hit a deer (the deer exploded). She hears voices in her head telling her to do bad things. I’m glad she is in a safe place, but sad for her.

Summer break is here. I’m teaching summer school in July, so I really only have June off. One month is good enough for me. I do best when I have a routine. We are using some of the extra money to hire a cleaning lady….you know you are old when things like this excite you.

My sister is in nursing school and it is really making me wish I was a pediatric nurse. Whenever I read JenRN’s diary I wish I worked in the picu. The reality of going back to school is a little too daunting for me, and I really do think my calling is teaching, but I think being a nurse would be so rewarding. I’ll keep the dream in my back pocket.

I am really not a fan of Ashley from Bachelorette. Also, none of the guys really stand out either. Could it be that I am *Gasp *maturing and this show does not appeal to me as much. Say it isn’t so!! This must be some sort of fluke!! 🙂

We’ll always have Four Weddings Whitney! 😉

 

Log in to write a note
June 3, 2011

Peekaboo i c u

That was really nice. 🙂

June 3, 2011

Good deed for the day sounds done! Was nice of you to offer her a lift!

June 4, 2011

that’s crazy about the girl on the road. Glad you were able to help her! Sad about your cousin 🙁 I don’t really like Ashley on the Bachelorette either. I’ll still watch it but I didn’t like her last season and I don’t like her much more this season. I wish they’d pick a brand new bachelor or bachelorette rather than always recycling them from the last show!!!

June 4, 2011

oh man, a cleaning lady would be sooooo wonderful. except i would probably feel the need to clean or at least straighten before she came, sort of defeating the purpose, lol.

June 4, 2011

Re: I find myself doing the same thing with the getting stuff and giving it to others. I think you should try to contact that girl. I think God put her there for you for something.

June 4, 2011

That was nice of you – but I would have been terrified too. I’ve always wanted to work in a NICU, but not as a nurse – I couldn’t do some of that stuff to those babies.

June 5, 2011

yea, I really don’t like the bach this season either… we are too damn old. but its still trashy reality tv so thats cool. I also watch 16+preg, real world (ugh!), and any daytime TLC show about labor/delivery lol! thanks for the shoutout, btw. I was thinking you’d be an EXCELLENT nurse when you said you wanna “fix” people lol! I love nursing. It is very rewarding with PERFECT hours!!

June 7, 2011

logged on today… it’s been a really long time, but your comment on my facebook status yesterday really made me want to just catch up on your life. Hope all is well. I MISS YOU!!!

June 8, 2011

I read this right when you posted it. That was so sweet of you to pick her up and I agree, there must have been a reason that you felt inclined to pick her up. Have you been able to contact her or leave your contact info ever since? I’d be curious to hear what happened RYN: Just updated!! 🙂

June 8, 2011

hehe I still love Four Weddings!! I haven’t been into TB much this season–no time and really, not much interest 🙁 Kinda sad. I’m really sad for your family but I’m glad your cousin wasn’t really hurt in the accident. I’m glad YOU were okay after picking up that hitchhiker! Poor girl 🙁 What an awful boyfriend…

June 11, 2011

I’m glad the hitchhiker didn’t try to rob you or anything! I picked up one once too, and she had been the same way – totally abandoned by her boyfriend and left with no money or phone or anything. So very sad. I often think about her too, and that was 2 years ago! I’m actually the same way – this season of the Bachelorette just isn’t as appealing or interesting as the previous ones. I don’t really care for Ashley or those guys either. Nobody really stands out or anything. The best ones were the ones with Jake and Vienna and Allie and Roberto. This season is just blah.

June 11, 2011

Re: did you get a new number? I texted you thanking you for your notes. Tonight Was different. Bout to write an entry about it

June 22, 2011

RYN: Thank you so much. ~Bethany & Baby.x

June 25, 2011

Hiya, thank you! Sorry my other note was so short and borderline rude, I’m not normally like that- I was not feeling myself, as you probably understand. 🙂 Love your name choice of Jacob- wonder why. 🙂 No, I’ve always loved that name. My Jacob is really great, I am so lucky. 🙂 Thank you for your thoughts, I really appreciate it! ~Beth & Baby Girl.x