9/11/07

I am in love with being married!! Oh my goodness-I never imagined it could be so wonderful. In just the past week I feel like I have learned so much about Will–he is an even more amazing man than I first realized. Ahh, I am cheezy, but I love the man so much!

All of our boxes arrived at our apt. on Sunday. I have never had so many domestic type things before-now I just have to learn how to use them. It is fun to unpack and set up the apartment with Will. It is so exciting to know I get to share this place and these memories with Will.

I don’t love California yet. It’s been lonely so far, but at the same time I am afraid to reach out to the people who are trying to befriend me. I feel like people want to get to know me because I am their pastor’s wife, not because they really want to know me. I am so afraid that once they get to know the real me, they won’t like me. I need to just get over myself, but it is so easy for me to just hide in my apt. right now. Easy, but lonely.

There is one couple that Will and I have spent time with. The husband (Jeremy) works under Will as a youth director at the church. We went out to dinner with him and his wife Rachel last weekend. It was a good time, and I felt pretty comfortable around them. I guess the Senior pastor at Will’s church found out because he told Will that he didn’t want me spending a lot of time with Rachel. Jeremy has been burned a little bit at times by the church and that has obviously hurt Rachel a little bit. Seriously though, can Will’s boss really decide who I do or do not hang out with?! I was very offended. I like Rachel, and I want to be friends with her. I find it a little ironic that her husbands name is Jeremy, and that Rachel is the name of Will’s last serious girlfriend. Ha.

A lady from the church called yesterday and invited me out to lunch for tomorrow. I am nervous–I don’t really like one on one interaction, but I am going. I hope it goes okay.

Thursday night we are going over to a couple’s house for dinner. I guess they have a daughter who is close to my age that they want to introduce me to. It’s nice having people look out for me.

Oopps battery dying…got to go.

Log in to write a note
September 11, 2007

I think you are an adult and you are free to make your own decisions. Ithink it’s quite silly that he would try to dictate who you hang out with and get to know. He probably just doesn’t want any negativity Rachel may feel abour certain church staff to rub off on you, but you’re a big girl, and you can form your own opinions! He’s just being silly. I hope Will lets the senior pastor know…

September 11, 2007

…that you will decide upon your new friendships without his input.

September 11, 2007

I’m glad that you are loving married life so much!! What isn’t to like, I guess?! You’ll come to love CA with time, too. …and it is wonderful that so many people are reaching out to you guys, you are truly blessed!

September 11, 2007

Married life is wonderful isn’t it?