01/27/2013

  I want a full time job so badly, as in like yesterday. I am so over this part-time teacher aiding crap. Maybe I would feel differently if I wasn’t aiding in a two year old classroom? I am overqualified. I do is change diapers, and take directions from a person who doesn’t even have a teaching license! I offer developmentally appropriate ideas and she shoots them down. Over it.

 Initially I took this job on the premise that it would help me secure an interview when an actual position became available at the school (the principal told me this at the over the summer when no positions were available).  I emailed the principal a few weeks ago to remind him of my interest for the 2013-2014 school year. He emailed me back letting me know that they have a very defined process for filling vacancies and they have already earmarked a girl who will be graduating in the spring to fill the position that I was hoping to interview for. Awesome. I’m glad I wasted a year of my life aiding for this school thinking it was my "in".

I should explain. My husband is the pastor at the church that is associated with the school. In the Lutheran world it is typical that if a guy is a pastor at a church and his wife is a teacher, the school at said church will usually hire the wife to teach. It is also expected that we send our kids to this school.I in no way believe I should just be given a job because of Will’s position (even though I lost my last job because of him–yeah, not bitter), but I wish I could at least interview. I’m a good teacher, and I’d like the chance to prove it. My biggest fear is that I won’t find a teaching job for next year. I can’t imagine spending another year out of the classroom.

In other news, I was in my cousin’s wedding this past September. The whole wedding was filled with drama      (not between the couple, but between the bridal party). Here we are four months later. She is three months pregnant and getting divorced. I’m trying to be supportive, but I am having a hard time agreeing with her decisions. I can’t understand why NOBODY is trying to convince her to stay in this marriage, or at least to seek out counseling. Her husband still very much wants to be married, but she wants nothing to do with him and is actually being pretty terrible to him. She is saying she is going to fight for full custody of the baby. It’s a very sad situation. I don’t want her to feel alone, but I also don’t want her to think that by me constantly listening, it means I am in support.

The kids are all doing well. They usually get along really well (especially while wreaking havoc on our house), but they have been fighting all day long. Abby has an ear infection and a yeast infection so she has been super fussy. She is super adorable though. I can’t believe she is almost one!!!

 

Log in to write a note
January 27, 2013

I’d be ticked about the job and thisclose to not sending my kids to the school. If something is said, I just might mention that you didn’t realize they had the same expectations since you weren’t even given the opportunity to interview for an open position.

January 28, 2013

I’m so sorry to hear about the teaching situation 🙁 That doesn’t seem fair at all that they won’t even give you an interview. Is it possible for you to look elsewhere or are you stuck there because of Will’s job?

January 28, 2013

I hope you can find a full time job soon! Wow, I can’t believe Abby is almost 1! Where does the time go?! Aww so sad about your cousin. She should at least put some effort into it! Especially with a baby on the way 🙁

January 28, 2013

I hope you find a full time position soon. Have you thought about doing home schooling for kids in the church? Don’t let your teaching skills go wasted

February 1, 2013

Wow, that is so very sad about your cousin. 🙁 I see more and more of this every day and it is just heartbreaking. I really hope your teaching situation turns around. Don’t give up. Keep praying for God to open the door He wants you to walk through when it comes to your job!

February 2, 2013

I don’t understand their hiring process. Why are they earmarking and not interviewing?? I’m sorry about your cousin, too–what a crappy situation.

February 11, 2013

Ryn: We couldn’t believe it either!!! We initially offered $85, and that is what they took. The bathrooms & flooring all need updating, but considering that the people who got foreclosed on bought it for $146, the potential is huge for this house & I cannot wait to get started on it. It truly was the diamond in the rough when it comes to foreclosures!

Thanks for the vote of confidence!

March 11, 2013

ryn: This particular realty office only posts one picture and that is of the outside of the house. Otherwise, I would share the link to the house.