01/12/2010

 

Can I just say that I am in love with the show The Bachelor? The past few seasons were a little on the boring side, but I am loving this season! My guilty pleasure. I have also become addicted to cooking shows. I don’t even like cooking, so I am not sure what the draw is, but it’s there.

Work is work. Not much has changed. The atmosphere is a little bit more pleasant since the arrival of the interim principal. I am not sure whether I’ll be teaching next year or not, but it is hard to envision myself back here. If I am going to teach, this school is realistically my only option due to the fact that I will start the school year on maternity leave. Nobody will hire someone new who won’t be there to start the year. I just don’t think about it for now. I am usually very future oriented, but these days I can’t see ahead of the day in front of me.

I need ideas for our school spirit week (Feb 1st-5th). Any ideas-or improvements to what I already have-would be great. I used up most of my theme day ideas during Red Ribbon Week. The few new ideas I presented to the other staff members didn’t go over too well (very frustrating-if they don’t like my ideas any one of them could offer to take over spirit week!). For now I have a twin day (dress like a friend), class color (each class picks a color and everyone wears it), and school spirit wear day. We are going to do a 30 minute teacher swap where the big kid teachers switch with the little kid teachers and do some kind of fun activity. We will also be doing a door decorating contest. I have a friend coming in with his extensive collection of lizards, etc. to do a "Reptile" assembly for us (I know not very exciting, but it’s free). We are also having a pep assembly-something I honestly have no clue how to run.

I have an idea to do a balloon launch. I was thinking we could attach a note to each balloon explaining that it is our spirit week and that we want to see how far our balloons travel. If someone finds the balloon/letter than they are asked to write back to the child who’s balloon they found. Is this even legal? Will said I need to check on it because it might be considered littering and/or a health hazard to birds. I remember doing this type of thing when I was in grade school, but maybe things have changed.

I don’t feel sick today. I kind of wish I did. I like the reassuring feeling that morning sickness brings.

I made the mistake of borrowing Will’s deodorant this morning. Male deodorant is waaay stronger than female. Eveytime I move my arms I smell boy. Yuck.

Will has been amazing lately! He has started this new thing where he makes me a mixed CD to every Sunday night. He puts it next to my keys Monday morning so that I can take it in the car to listen. It reminds me of when we were dating. It’s weird that we were dating only 2.5 years ago. SO much life has happened since then.

Log in to write a note
January 12, 2010

Aw, I love Will’s idea. It’s so cute! I don’t think the balloon thing is legal because the balloons often end up in the ocean or being eaten by creatures which then kills them. Sorry. But your other ideas are great! If I think of anything, I’ll pass it on. The Bachelor last night made me think of you, and I wanted to call you to talk about it! I couldn’t get over Rozlyn: “I don’t think…”

January 12, 2010

“…that my personal life is anyone’s business.” WHAT?! How do you not see a problem with that situation?? Anyway, I read Chris Harrison’s blog and apparently she and the guy are still seeing each other.

January 12, 2010

my kids LOVED classroom theme day – the kids from each class pick their own theme, it’s fun. we’ve also done mismatch day, wacky tacky day (similar), crazy hat day, silly socks day, pajama day…. probably others. have fun!

January 12, 2010

Pajama day, college day, tacky day…we do all of those homecoming week. And career day

January 12, 2010

As a former STUCO sponsor, here are some spirit day ideas: – Super Hero Day (Dress as favorite your favorite hero) – PJ Day (no naps, but come live out your dreams! We provided snacks to students when in homeroom… milk and cookies) – Old McDonald Day (Dress as a farmer or as your favorite barnyard animal) – Lesson Day (Dress like your favorite teacher or staff member) n

January 13, 2010

I think there should be a random teacher day. 1 child picked from each class pulls a name out of the hat and that teacher is their teacher for the day or afternoon.. Kids love change and thrill

January 17, 2010

RE: Thanks for your notes. I highly doubt that Mike would let me attend a counselling session with him (if he is even seeing a counsellor – for all I know that could have been a lie or excuse not to talk to me or see me). If he really is seeing one, I am sure that she would have to suggest it before he would ask me. I PRAY that he’s open enough to come to that point – but if he starts telling herthat he has zero interest in the marriage, then she may never suggest for me to come. I just started watching The Bachelor – kind of dramatic and silly but it was funny nonetheless, and that bad girl! “My personal life is none of your business…” LOL. Shame on her! Poor guy. Now he won’t trust any of the girls. I wish everyone could have a husband as great as Will.

January 17, 2010

I love that idea about the balloons! That will be a real shame if that is illegal. That sounds really cool. I have often wanted to do that with a balloon and see if anyone ever writes back. When we had Spirit week we had a day where we dressed “old” like senior citizens and that was pretty fun. We put powder in our hair to make it white and wore ugly old glasses and old people clothes.

January 18, 2010

Glad to know I’m not alone! Hall was wearing a toque because he has Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma, but apparently he is responding really well to treatment which is great. I just found out a couple of days ago that he has cancer, and it was online, so that’s the only reason I know 😛

January 18, 2010

Sorry, Hodgkin’s Lymphoma.

January 19, 2010

So which girl are your rooting for on The Bachelor? I am so glad he got rid of two of the terrible ones last night – Michelle just got on my last nerve, and the one who was all like “I really really really want a husband. I want to give my mom more grandkids.” OMG.. gag! I’m glad he told her to leave. She just had an evil face.

January 20, 2010

I like Vienna too (for now anyway).