Introductions

M name is Topher and I would like to use this first post to introduce myself.

Born and raised in a small rural town in central Ohio during the eighties and nineties. My childhood was not an easy one, but I look back on it fondly and with gratitude for it made me the man I am today and I can honestly say I like myself. My parents sheltered my brothers and I and my world view was very limited in my youth, but I always loved meeting new people, making friends, and learning of others customs and traditions.

At the age of twenty-four , I relocated over four hundred and fifty miles away on my own to the state of Maryland were I currently reside with my husband and our sixteen year old son.

I think it is important to note that I identify as gay, as I am in a same sex marriage, but in truth, I am asexual. I have no sexual desires to speak of and would be perfectly content to go without sexual intimacy. I much prefer to connect with someone on an emotional/ intellectual level.

My husband and I have been together for fifteen amazing years and married ten come next April, 2025. I am someone who freely gives my love, however the connection I share with my husband is deeper than I thought possible and he gave me a son, with whom I love more than life itself.  We are by no means perfect, but they are perfection to me.

I work as a grief counselor, thought it is much more than a job to me, I consider it one of my purposes in life. I feel honored to be able to connect with someone who has experience a loss and often feels disconnected from the rest of the world.  A reminder that grief is an emotion we all share and hopefully can empathize with.

Some of my hobbies include reading, biographies, especially auto-biographies from the persons own point of view.  Books on topics of spirituality and religious practices, and works of fiction as well, those that share a spiritual/ science fiction theme are my favorites, as they open my mind to what possibly could be. Another past-time I enjoy is jogging, I do not consider myself a serious runner, like others I pass on my treks, but I do jog a minimum of five miles, four times a week. I just love to be in motion, I take long walks, the longer the better. Sometimes by myself, sometimes with my family and sometimes with friends.

I have an eclectic taste in music, I can not say there is one gerne I prefer over another. 50’S rock and roll, 60’s Motown, 80’s contemporary, opera, and indie rock, just to name a few.

I will wrap this up by inviting any who reads this to introduce yourself, don’t be shy. regardless of your sex, age, or country of origin, I would like to hear from you!

 

Log in to write a note
3 days ago

Hi Topher!  Welcome to OD!  I’ve been on OD off and on for many years.  It’s not that active anymore but it’s still a good place to write down your thoughts.

3 days ago

@mama-bear

Hello Mama-bear and thank you for the welcome, much appreciated. I use to have a diary on here back in the late nineties., 98-2001ish, along with many of my real life friends. It was a thriving community at the time.

Thank you for reaching out and I will be sure to visit your page and take a look at your post, have a wonderful day!