It’s Official

 Well, it is official. 
I will be doing the HALF MARATHON for the leukemia and lymphoma society in the first weekend during November!! 

If you want to find out more about the race, click here.
. . .
I start my individual training (that i already bought) April 1st and will be doing that for 6 weeks and then i start training with the trainers for the half-marathon. 
I’m doing this in honor of my mother who lost her battle with Leukemia in 2004. 
This picture was taken of her about a year before she passed. 
scan 18
This picture is of my mom and dad after my dad finished one of his many FULL marathons. 
33655_536982062842_136102540_31392392_5193736_n 
I want to be just like them! πŸ™‚
. . .
My ultimate goal will be to run the entire 13.1 miles.
My second goal is to run over half of it if running the entire isn’t doable. 
I’m going to train, HARD
I’m going to complain, throw up, get stronger, feel weaker, get motivated, have my doubtful moments, and many, many more. I’ve got 7 months to get this lazy and out of shape body turned into a leaner, stronger, more powerful temple to run this race. 
1 Corinthians 9:24-27 says 
"Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. Therefore I do not run like someone running aimlessly; I do not fight like a boxer beating the air. No, I strike a blow to my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize."
This race that Paul is referring to is the race of life, the race that ultimately matters—our salvation
Just as living a life that is pleasing to God takes discipline, running and completing this race is going to take discipline. 
I will need your encouragement, your prayers, your advice, your love, and your support. 

In the next few months i’ll start adding my donate link to some of my entries. If you feel led or would like to offer some support in the form of $$ feel free to do it. If not, that is COMPLETELY ok! πŸ™‚ I’m not here to take your money, but i am here to take your prayers and love!! 

I’m so excited for what all this journey will bring, minus the number of times i’ll puke from exhaustion. 

 

 

<–Friends only entry that’a’way! <3

Log in to write a note
March 14, 2012

Yeah! Good luck!

March 14, 2012

good luck…it’s such a nice tribute to your momma

March 14, 2012

Awesome! πŸ™‚

March 14, 2012

YOU ARE SO COOL πŸ™‚ I bet your mom would be so proud xox

March 14, 2012

Good luck, Amy! I think this is an incredible thing to do *hugs* xx ryn: Daniel and Anna broke up officially in October, and Daniel and I started dating in February. Daniel recently told me the story of how their relationship ended, and apparently it had been on the rocks and having problems for months, but no body knew about it, so when they did break up it came as quite a shock to a lot of people.

March 14, 2012
March 16, 2012

That is a beautiful picture of your mom! You look like her. I hope that at some point in the next few months I’ll be able to offer up a donation… but since Ben and I will be budgeting together I’ll have to run it by him πŸ˜‰

March 17, 2012

This is a wonderful way to honor your mom! She was so beautiful!!!