Home Life.

<-pictures that’a’way

 

 

 chairtumblr_lbc2otatpv1qbzevyo1_500
This will be long so i figured i’d leave you with a pretty picture (or 2) and a song to listen to as you read hahaha.
"Pardon Me" by: HE IS WE.
I got a FB post from my brother this morning,
“To remind myself of our fun times I bought some sushi for dinner tonight”
*yay*
Yes, that’s right, we eat sushi like its water. Seriously though….we love it.
I’ve been praying for him a lot since this weekend. He’s got some big life choices he needs to make and he needs to make them now. He made a really dumb choice this past weekend that could have gotten him seriously injured if not dead. Lets just say when I got that 4am phone call I didn’t fall back asleep until 730 and woke back up at 830.
I love my brother, but sometimes I want to shake some sense into him.
. . .
Anywho.
I’ve been super slack on staying on track with transforming my house into MY house [and my brothers of coarse]. He loves everything I’ve been doing; he likes my style and trusts that I’ll make good design decisions (and he doesn’t really care haha). I just realized I haven’t posted any pictures of anything I have done…hmmm I need to post those wouldn’t ya think?
So yesterday I made a list walking through each room in the house (minus Maria’s future room & the back porch) of things I want to do. The list is not all encompassing and I’m sure I left off some things that I need to get done or would like to do but for now it works.
Here is the list, enjoy
Kitchen/Casual Dining area:

  • Flooring
  • Paint Walls [Dark Grey]
  • Paint Ceiling over kitchen [black]
  • Spray paint stars to go on black wall [white/silver]
  • Buy curtain rod for big bay window
  • New light fixture for above table.
  • New light fixture for the actual kitchen
  • Paint cabinets [white, off white]
  • Get new hardware for cabinets
  • Counter tops [concrete w/ a glossy seal]
  • Backsplash [subway tile—black? Teal? White?]

 
Laundry Room:

  • Flooring
  • Paint Walls [??]
  • Make curtain to hang under cabinets and to the top of washer/dryer
  • Paint Cabinets [white, off white] & organize pantry

 
Frog:

  • Clean out grandma’s stuff
  • Go through my old things and either box up/goodwill/trash them
  • Clean out attic (right side)
  • Fix/caulk window
  • Screw in a/c window unit
  • Re-hang curtain rod
  • Trash/goodwill old/unused furniture.
  • Deep clean area

 
Den:

  • Clean rust off of fireplace
  • Buy curtain Rods (2 short/1 for each window)
  • Get Curtains (8 foot) [1 pack w/ only 2 panels should be sufficient]
  • Buy Couch
  • Find Coffee Table
  • Hang shelves over couch
  • Get rid of entertainment center
  • Mount TV on wall

.
Living Room:

  • Get rid of pink chairs
  • Move chairs from den into living room
  • Make slip covers for mentioned chairs [white, off white]
  • Hang purchased light in the foyer

 
Dining Room:

  • Paint Walls [using existing paint from living room]
  • Find fabric for chairs
  • Reupholster chairs
  • Get Curtains for window (same as in living room/ikea)

 
Back Hallway:

  • Fix/caulk door frame going into maria’s room
  • Paint Walls [grey? White? Off white?
  • Fix photo wall.

<div style="margin: 0in 0in 0pt”> 
Hallway Bathroom:

  • Fix hole by bathtub
  • Re-caulk marble in the shower

 
Bo’s Room:

  • Buy curtain Rod
  • Buy curtains [8 foot / color?]
  • Break down twin bed & send mattress to grandma’s.
  • Move bed from my old bedroom downstairs into room
  • Re-arrange furniture

 
Master Bedroom:

  • Re-paint room [black accent wall and either white/grey other walls]
  • New curtains [not sure of color yet, something bright]
  • New window shades
  • Paint furniture
  • Re-caulk shower marble
  • Fix hole where toilet goes into the wall.
  • Re-paint cabinets
  • Closet organization
  • Paint long green table

 
Front Yard/Front of House:

  • Lay down new grass seed
  • De-weed front two flower beds (re-make flower bed under Marias bedroom window)
  • Lay down black mulch.
  • Fix flowerbed by mailbox.
  • Edge driveway and walkway.
  • Re-paint edgings of house [color? Possibly the same, maybe white]
  • Paint shutters [black]
  • Paint front door [Orange? Yellow? Teal? Turquoise?]
  • Paint bench on front porch
  • Make seat cushions for bench

 
Side Yard (street side):

  • De-weed bed
  • Lay down black mulch
  • Cut-down tree

 
Back Yard:

  • De-weed bed
  • Lay down black mulch
  • Paint shutters [black]
  • Toss old/unused furniture
  • Tear down swing set.

 
Garage:

  • Get rid of junk
  • Get shelves
  • Go through cabinets
  • Clean & repaint big hutch
  • Organize stuff.

 
. . .
Now that I’ve made the list I really want to start tackling things off of it. I AM REALLY HOPING that the floors get started this weekend. They are going to have to rip up not only the decrepit and gross linoleum but also ALL of the subfloor from the kitchen, dining area, back hallway, and computer room. It is completely damaged and spots are rotted through. Joyous, not. So this weekend they could potentially get all of the old subfloor ripped up and have new subfloor laid, which means we could then get the tile to be laid. Man oh man money just goes so quickly. So while they are doing the floors (if I’m banking on this weekend) I could get something crossed off of my list. Depending on the weather I could do some of the outside stuff (I still need to go buy a weed-eater/edger). However if it is too stinking hot I’m going to have to find another job (and since that would bean that the kitchen, back hallway, upstairs, and computer room are out…that leaves me with the back of the house, the yard, or the garage. The den is out, a lot of what needs to take place in there requires buying hahaha. I could go look at fabric for the chairs, as well as fabric for the slipcovers but I’m at a complete loss for that lol. I might spray paint the stars this weekend and get going on that garage because it is hideous.
It is a little overwhelming, and a lot of it I’m going to need help with because I don’t know how to do it and don’t want to screw it up; but it will all get done.
It’s nice to be “on my own”. Grandma & Grandaddy are still in the process of getting all of HER STUFF out of my house, but they are rarely there. It’s just me most nights and I still get a little frightened. I’m going to be getting an alarm system (which I’m super excited about) to help calm my fears. Especially since the house was attempted to be broken into recently, while I was home. I need to take my brothers guns out and go practice with them and get more comfortable holding a gun, especially for my own protection.
. . .
Well this is all I have for now, hopefully I’ll write an even more interesting post later, or tomorrow, or next week haha with me you never know.

Log in to write a note
August 30, 2011

Holy long list batman! You can do it. One job at a time, and soon you’ll be amazed at how much has been accomplished. Ah to have a house to do all your own.

August 30, 2011

that is a long list, good luck with it all…just reading it overwhelms me..