Six in one.

Half a dozen the other.

So I’m getting a lot of queries, which, though I pray on the ease and technique of being able to instantly respond via facebook status, isn’t a response small enough to fit into the 160 character limit currently on the mobile version of my facebook application.

Being the huge Nirvana fan you are….
I am a fanatic. I know all. Nirvana lives in my blood.
Right….well being the "fanatic" that you are, does it not bother you that miley cyrus did a cover of ‘smells like teen spirit’ during a show? It’s all over the internet. I’m sure you’ve seen it.
I have seen it, and….
It’s just so fucking stupid, you know? I mean Miley fucking Cyrus! Who is she to cover one of Nirvana’s songs? FUcking hannah montana bullshit fuck grabble rabble rouse rouse…

 It tapers off there into manic confusing drabble about miley cyrus and her teenybopper methodology.

Let’s discuss this, shall we?
I’m not a fan of miley. Being a 26 year old male, I certainly fall out of the target audience age/sex range for her overproduced pop/vocal "music". I’ve seen a few things she’s done, mainly caught newscasts about her horrendous outfit choices and the few blind moments of family channel "hannah montana" shows…But let’s start from the root.
It’s a good song. A thrashy, tedious, wonderful little number that kurt cobain managed to thumb out in about five minutes (self admittedly theiving the tune from "more than a feeling" by Boston and sloppily changing/altering the lyrics he had written in a journal years before Nevermind was ever an idea) In fact, the name of the song itself only sprung from a friend of Kurt’s scrawling "Kurt smells like teen spirit" on a wall in his home in washington state. The friend had simply noticed the odd name of a deodorant stick and went with it (this deodorant still exists today!)
So the idea that this song is something special is idiotic. Perhaps in the hearts of every Nirvana fan there shall remain a small, EVER so small love for this trashy little tune, but let’s not forget that Kurt cobain himself was well known near the end of the Nevermind Tours for walking off stage or just plain refusing to play that particular song…..He felt it was the only song people knew, and that pissed him off.

Moreso – It’s not the first cover I’ve heard. Paul Anka did a lounge lizard cover (horribly, I might add). Tori Amos did a weird angry-lesbian-with-a-piano cover of the song….Horrid. More punk bands than I can count in real numbers have done covers, including one of kurt cobains personal favorites, skankin’ pickle. This miley cyrus version is the first true-to-original version I’ve heard that has done the song correctly, in tune, and not shitty like you were drunk and decided to fuck up smells like teen spirit. Is that a good thing? Maybe. Maybe not.

As for if this bothers me….My rebuttle has got to be "why? should it bother me?"
I mean, who cares, really? If the kid wants to do a Nirvana song, Let her. Who cares who she is – This is Nirvana we’re talking about. It’s never bothered me when I see a kid wearing a Nirvana T-shirt, or talking about how much they love the band. It’s never bothered me at all, and do you know why? Because I was THERE. I lived that part. I was physically alive and remember every moment.

Besides, the teenyboppers need a good dose of Nirvana every now and then. I don’t see the big deal. Remember folks – This particular kid, Miley Cyrus, Her dad is fuckin’ billy ray cyrus. Kay? Had that stupid song? Oh god. If that’s not the worst thing to have to grow up with, I don’t know what is.

Log in to write a note
May 10, 2011

Incidentally, have you heard the version of Come As You Are that was on the first episode of The Voice? It’s oddly awesome.

May 10, 2011

this reminds me I should go check that out. I was in disbelief. I thought it was a joke that miley did a cover of nirvana… *toddles off to youtube.* Where in Canadia are you? 🙂