A fashionably late dedication

She shines, in a world full of ugliness
She matters, when everything is meaningless

This past Oct 30th marks the second year anniversary of my marriage.
It sounds so stupid, two years, it feels like I’ve known my wife for my entire life, that anything that had happened prior to her and I being together is just white noise in some relevant but distant memory. But there it is. Two years.
In my two years I’ve expanded exponentially….. I should explain that I meant that as mentally, not physically, though coincidentally
I digress.
I love her more than anything I could possibly imagine.
What she’s done for me is immense. It’s like the story of the birth of jesus, ergo "pre" and "post" wife. PRE-wife I was a pancake batter mess of a person that just kind of floated along on this "living right here, right now, not giving a fuck" cloud of arrogance and ignorance.
Ok, the arrogance and ignorance is still there, but she changed me for the better I promise.
Some of the better friends that I had back then are complete retards to me now…..just….retards.
She doesn’t just put up with me (which she does, fantastically), She makes things understandable. She fills the voids of my incomplete sentences with amazing love goo.
Get your mind out of the gutter, man!

The amount of love and nurturing from this woman is impossible. I don’t think I’ve ever been as close with my father, in my entire life. The way she cares about everything, like pixie girls when they sit in fields of flowers and cup the pedals in their hands, admiring life, each molecule and speck, drinking in the beauty of –
I went off on a thing there. The point remains: I love this woman so deeply, she’s become engraved into my entire soul.
if you could only see the way, she loves me, then maybe you would understand.
She is the mother of my child, One of the best mothers I have ever seen. She is absolutely incredible with Lydia, and I mean supermom kind of shit too, none of that lazy parenting.
So here’s to you, Ariel Nakia Larose, my wife of two years and forever:
I am always at your altar. Without you, the person I am today simply does not exist. You are my reason for being, my reason for breathing, and my all time best friend (of -all time-).
You and Lydia are the greatest thing to happen since I discovered those nougat bars filled with ju-jubes that I can only ever buy from that candy shop in Calgary.

Random thought:
I think the reason a lot of men don’t want to open up communication to a certain level is because they are absolutely terrified of what they might find out, or the consequences, or something along those lines.
 

Log in to write a note