03/01/2010

I’ve had dreams about this place since I was as young as I can remember – More specifically – Pripyat, Ukraine. Just north of Chernobyl. I recall the dreams, for as vivid as they were, all being in black and white (or maybe I’m just remembering them that way). When I first learned about the chernobyl incident – As a teenager, 14 or so – My intrigue with pripyat grew rapidly. Since then it’s always kind of been on my mind as a place of mystery and wonder, a place I’d like to visit in my lifetime. Imagine a town of 50,000 residents – abandoned due to radiation, within 36 hours of the infamous chernobyl disaster – All personal belongings left behind to rot and corrode in the poison. Fast forward 24 years, in 2010, Pripyat still stands as it was in 1986, on the day that life just kind of…stopped.
Nature has taken over, despite the tolerable-yet-still-high radiation levels, and the town sits empty and quiet, awaiting the day that man can come back and resume life. Sigh, it’s a collaboration of beauty and man’s mark on this world.

I digress.

Birthday tomorrow, I’ll be 25. A mere quarter of whatever lifeline I live, and I am slightly nostalgic for those stupid-fun teenage years. But it’s time for grown ups to be grown ups (I just dun wanna be a growed up). My birthstone is aqua-marine, something ancients believed to bring youthful vitality, and peace. I’ll tell you right now that the secret to everlasting life is fighting tooth and nail not to EVER grow up.

The wedding is coming along beautifully. I’m finding that the closer the date comes, the more excited I feel to be married to the utmost beautiful girl in the entire world. We’ve come a long, long way in our relationship and I’ve never felt as close to anyone as I do to her. Sometimes I feel this overwhelming mushy gushy feeling and I just hug her real tight and never wanna let go.
This wedding is going to be the best day in my entire life. So be ready.

It appears as though the 2010 olympics are over and done, with Canada winning more than its share of gold medals. Have to say I’m not surprised that people in BC were complaining about the olympics, I mean they spent billions of dollars building things and the olympics only lasted for….2 weeks? something like that? I expected them to be longer, I truly did.
On that note: Way to go Canada! My country RULES! WHOO!

Seems like I should probably do some work now, so this is just a short update.

Log in to write a note
March 2, 2010

HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Dear Matt!!! I hope your day was full of blessings!! So happy your wedding is coming along so well, and that you two are very happy!! When is the date? Keep me updated on where and when! I keep you always in my thoughts & prayers…. Love, Susan….

March 4, 2010

RYN: That’s true, i just tend to say things i don’t mean when i’m messed up