waiting up for you.

Sitting here I watch impatiently as time ticks away.

Just needing to hear the sound of your voice.

Just needing the affirmation.

That you miss me as much.

As much as I do you.

Just want to talk.

To say hello.

I’m here.

But I’m sorry.

I know you can’t.

As much as I am you.

I’m sure you’re missing me.

You’re needing the affirmation.

You’re needing to hear the sound of my voice.

Whereever you watch impatiently as time ticks away.

…But I still can’t help waiting up for you.

Log in to write a note

Interesting work, I like the way you have structured your poem using length of lines, there is a desperation in the narrators voice that I like, coupled with a belief, perhaps a hope that ‘she’ is waiting. best wishes,

I’m crazy over your diary 🙂 Thanks for existing!

I agree that Christians shouldn’t avoid the world because they’re anticipating heaven. God put us here for a purpose- to glorify Him in everything, which includes loving others and helping them. I don’t know how open you would be to this, but I’m reading “Purpose Driven Life” and it is a great book, so I would highly recommend it to you.

Too bad for that last bastard line that just couldn’t be long enough, eh?

nicely said

Nice. I don’t understand the bit about “As much as I am you,” though.

Thanks for the comments. This poem is kind of a journey from calmness to franticness and back to calmness again. The form of the poem is as much a device as the words spoken.

April 11, 2018

Like this one, maybe! Pretty clever, if I may say so myself.

Might make entry number one of the anthology.