updates

Okay, so I’m not very good at keeping this thing updated.

It’s amazing to think I used to make my living as a writer. Good thing they didn’t pay me by the inch, or I would have been poor(er).

Of course, most news stories don’t require a whole lot of creativity. It’s reasonably similar to that old point-proof-comment stuff they taught in high school.

– Organize your points in order from most to least important

– Drop in quotes

– Help readers make necessary connections between facts 

That’s a very simplified version, which may sound demeaning to a great profession, but really makes a journalist good is not his/her skills as a wordsmith so much as being a relentless information gatherer.

End of digression.

Two weeks ago I started a thrice weekly morning workout class. Very intense.

I figured it was about time to make a real effort to get in shape. So far so good.

It’s an early morning class (6:15, yikes!) which takes some getting used to, but it actually works out well because then I’m left with my evenings free to do with what I please.

Our instructor is a nice British lady. The class is a mix of kettlebell, cardio, circuit training, etc. Everyday is something a little different.

I’ve discovered a new word for pain: Tabata.

The girlfriend and I made a pact that we would both give up our favourite things (me: video games, her: Chicken McNuggets), as a way to motivate ourselves to get fit. Every week we’ll weigh ourselves and for every pound we lose we get to indulge.

She doesn’t know what she’s in for. I’m kicking butt.

About two months ago I discovered a cousin of mine – whom I’d never met – had moved to Halifax for work.

She’s a third cousin from my father’s side of the family. She’d unknowingly moved into a rental house shared with three extremely destructive female university students who had completely trashed the place before she moved in.

Her father called my dad to ask if he could help her one night she had gotten a flat tire. After seeing the state of her house, my dad suggested she move in with us until she found something better.

Nice girl. 23. Leanne and I have become good friends with her.

Working with the NS government until school starts in September.

I answer the phones and listen to old people whine about a property tax rebate for senior citizens.

Could be worse, I guess, but I’m becoming very jaded about growing old. You wouldn’t believe what these people call to complain about.

Got some very surprising (good) news the other day.

A good friend of mine whom I haven’t seen in a long time (Erin H) is planning to come to Halifax for grad school. Good news indeed.

I used to see her at least a couple times a year, but I haven’t seen her in probably three years now.

Log in to write a note
April 11, 2018

I need to start working out again.