tracing the shadows.

Tracing the shadows with the tip of my finger, I can hear her breathe. When I kiss her neck I can swear I feel her heart flutter, just a bit. Pure relaxation. There is no world; there are no complications – there is only us.

Photographs. Moments in time that never end. The darkness that you can see, but that never becomes light. Scatter them across the floor and let me lie upon them and sleep and never wake up. Let me dream. Let me remember.

Each step becomes larger than the last. I have to squint harder as I look back. Don’t ever let me lose sight – I never want to. I once wanted to turn around and run back, but I knew it wasn’t right. I must meet you going forward…if I am to meet you at all.

I still trace the shadows in my mind, but they are cold. I listen but there is only silence. I feel but there is only calm. Pure anticipation. There is the world – it doesn’t wait for me.

Log in to write a note

wow.

I think that anticipation must be one of the best and worst feelings to ever hold. I liked your third paragraph, the idea about ‘going forward’ to meet someone. You’re an interesting writer, keep it up.

klingkling1@hotmail.com I expect many a lovely letterly.

write in here again.

October 11, 2003

i’ve never felt that before. but i can’t wait.

April 11, 2018

Possibly some of my best prose. About my girlfriend and I going separate ways for college.