the fool’s life.

It’s funny how in Shakespeare the fool is always the one who sees his life most clearly, simple though it is.

Yesterday I went down to Sparks St. for the first time in a long time. A friend of mine called me up and asked me if I’d like to go…I quickly replied that I would.

I’ve always enjoyed the jests and performances of these mysterious people, but I also discovered that their gift is more than just entertainment and laughter, to those who know how to look for it.

What they give is a definition of the word community, and a lesson to all those who have forgotten. How so? Well, there is no admission charged to watch the show. You get to watch for free and then decide if and how much you would like to donate (and in my opinion you should definitely at least donate something, even if you didn’t enjoy the performance, for no other reason than to return the courtesy they give to you in performing for you). They make their living on the kindness and generosity of others, something our society seems to be slowly losing over time. What happens if people stop giving back to these warm and welcoming people? Chances are they may starve. In my view, that makes them martyrs. They dedicate their lives to the hope and belief that there is enough goodness in society to keep them going. If only we could all believe in that same goodness inside ourselves…

Jokers today, martyrs tomorrow. Such is the life of a fool.

Log in to write a note

I think you’ve got it all wrong. Then again, the busker I saw on Spark’s street sucked ass. “I see you’re going with the spicky hair there. Just don’t date a girl with curly hair. You’d be velcro.” (silence) “Okay, right…” (continues to juggle)

I miss you Scott! That is all.

April 11, 2018

At this point, I think maybe busking would have been a more lucrative career choice than journalism.