heartbeat city

i think that i am in the midst of a big phase in my progression as a composer:

i really like writing songs that sound like they’re from the 1950s.
i think it’s kind of a neat thing to try, because I’M not from the ’50s…so it’s like my perverted, slanted version of that style and era.
and it’s also fairly challenging, despite how simple a lot of those songs seem.
challenging to still be original with it.

composition is pretty much the most rewarding thing ever. when it works out well, you not only have something that you’re really proud of, but something that will exist a lot longer than you will (well….only if you record it or transcribe it…but never fear, for i always do ONE of those things. sometimes both if i feel i need the practice).

i sort of wonder about who will have all the music i’ve made, and will make, after i’m dead.
hopefully it will be sitting in some family’s attic.
"great-great-grandpa’s shoebox of CDs".
along with an antique discman to play them on.

i also recently wrote my 200th song.
cool.

"never seen, nor heard, nor touched
baby never lived too much
six years since the last clear day
at home"

jav

Log in to write a note
May 4, 2006

I wonder the same thing. And I’ve been filtering through my dad’s songbooks of popular standards from the 50’s and 60’s…some real mint stuff. Time to update the JCOS. .. .. Hi right back at ya, hahaha.

May 4, 2006

I like your songs.