Wrath of the Tyrant

I find the worst thing about being home during the day is that the phone never stops ringing.  I sometimes wonder if it’s some sort of coincidence; as if it wouldn’t ring so much if I wasn’t here or wasn’t going to be here.  It wouldn’t be so bad if it was all from people I want to talk to, but no, normally it’s from telemarketers.  Or at least from unknown or toll-free numbers or something like that.  We don’t answer those. 

I had a major brain fart earlier.  It’s a weird one anyway, because there wasn’t even any reason for me to be thinking about the thing I couldn’t remember, but I was legitimately ashamed of myself.  See, there’s this store in Memphis that sells anime.  More than one trip to Memphis has been undertaken by my friends and me (well, my friends anyway. I’ve never been the mastermind on these trips, always the tag-along) just to go to this place.  In fact, the first time I ever went to Memphis it was to go there.  There were a couple of other points of interest we always visit, and I had no trouble remembering them, but for some reason, I couldn’t think of the name of the damn anime store.  I wracked my brain, kicked myself, wrung my hands, but I couldn’t think of it.  I even used Google, but to no avail.  There was even a thread of some kind somebody had started on some message board (I’m message board illiterate; I’ve never used one) where a guy said, "Hey my friends told me there’s a store here in Memphis that sells anime.  I can’t remember the name of it, but I know they said it was on Summer Avenue.  Anybody know the name of it?"  People from Memphis had no idea it even existed. "I’m not into anime, and I don’t hang around Summer Avenue (I found this funny, like there’s something wrong with the area. Show me a place in Memphis I’m not terrified of) but I work with a bunch of people who are into anime and they’ve never mentioned it."  I wonder, sir, why they would tell you where they shop if they know you don’t give a shit.  But yeah, several people had no clue, and one said that "domestic shops almost always sell exclusively bootleg merchandise, or if they have legit stuff they want too much for it." 

Well, this all pissed me off.  I finally found it though, just at random on Google by typing the same query in different ways.  It’s Animax.  Animax!  I knew it was some sort of pun, but damn if I couldn’t think of it!  I don’t even know why I was trying.  It was just the first thing in my head when I rolled out of bed, like when you wake up with a song you haven’t heard in weeks stuck in your head– there’s no explaination for it. 

I need food. 

Log in to write a note
April 1, 2009

Good ol’ Animax. I couldn’t remember the name of it either until you mentioned it. You know what crazy thing from home I suddenly miss? Mi Toro.