Wonderboy

I got some new boots today, and unlike the last pair (that I may or may not have mentioned– They’re Rockports, they zip up the side like some I had in 8th grade, but are thin and look more like they’re intended to be more formal than my normal Harleys) I think I’m really going to like them.  Don’t get me wrong, I like the Rockports, but like I said, they seem a little too… delicate for the sort of wear I usually put my boots through.  But this entry isn’t about my new boots (also Harley-Davidson, but with laces and similar in appearance to a combat boot, and also a zipper on the side for added… opening power I guess?  I’m hoping I can leave them tied and just use the zipper to get in and out of them), but instead about the pair I wish I could have bought, and a pair of Reeboks that made me laugh.

First, the Harleys I didn’t buy:

I’m not sure if the rough edges of the skull decal are to emphasize the ruggedness of the boot or merely the cause of their presence in the discount shoe store I discovered them in, but I thought they were bad ass.  I didn’t get them because I didn’t like the fit.  I’m very picky about my footwear– if my feet aren’t happy, then I’m generally also not happy.  The size was right, but not the shape. 

Now, the Reeboks.  Prepare to react, likely first with humor, then possibly with the strain of trying to decide if they’re awesome or not.

Oh yeah.  That’s the red Voltron lion.  And you can just make out the Reebok logo on the right side of the frame, so you know I wasn’t just generalizing or bullshitting.  That’s a shiny red and black Reebok sneaker with the red lion from friggin’ Voltron on the side.  Like I said, I’m not sure if that’s awesome or not, considering a couple of things– it was indeed an adult shoe; it was size 11.  It was also comprised of bright, shiny primary colors, so it would probably look more at home in a rap video than on my feet.  And finally, as awesome as Voltron is, is it relevant enough to be on a sneaker?  I guess there’d be a market for them in the Hot Topic crowd, but this was a discount shoe store in Savannah, TN.  Interesting though.

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
August 15, 2009

Wait. Isn’t Voltron kind of like a Transformer and something from Power Rangers, where they all come together to form one big thing? Why would Reebok put that on a shoe?! It’s more amusing than awesome for me in the end, but that was definitely a toss up.

August 15, 2009

HAHA! Thanks so much for sending that to me. It was worth it just to hear, “Form arms and torso! Now form a head!”

August 16, 2009

no way bro i work at rockport

August 17, 2009

Shoes with “bad ass skulls” on them obviously aren’t badass enough on their own. It’s a big indicator of how not-badass they are. Maybe I’m weird.

August 19, 2009

ryn: I totally plan to have a round door. Don’t know where I’ll come by one, but it’s gonna have to happen. And yeah, the house might cost something like $200,000, but that’s nothing compared to lots of houses around here or those fancy places up at Pickwick. Sheesh.

August 19, 2009

Voltron shoes?!?! I’ll get the blues ones. Quick find three more people that are as excited about this!