Without Wings

It’s one of those days when I want to write so I don’t get out of the habit, but I got absolutely nothing I want to write about again.  Oh well, I guess I’ll just ramble about what I’ve been up to the last couple of days.

I did go see Friday the 13th Thursday night.  It was pretty awesome.  I don’t really feel up to going into detail; I mean, come on, it’s Friday the 13th.  You know what to expect.  Group of teenagers, doing what teenagers do… except for the whole "hiking in the woods" thing… Okay, actually, that’s always bothered me.  The "kids" in these movies never actually seem like the sort that would even be there.  With the exception of maybe the first movie where it’s made obvious that they’re there in a work capacity, like they’re possibly being paid to get the place ready to be used as a camp where they’ll be counsellors.  I could understand some young people who wouldn’t normally have jack to do with the woods going to a summer camp as a job.  But anyway, usually it’s just these kids looking for a good time… by going to stay in cabins in the damn woods?  Yeah, that sounds like a ton of fun when you’re 17-18 years old.  Maybe that was just the only place they thought they could go unsupervised and still get away with screwing, drinking, and smoking pot (since that’s ALL that happens in all those movies).  I digress.  Point is, you know what to expect.  Teenagers screwing, drinking, and smoking pot in the damn woods, then along comes Jason to murder them for no apparent reason.  But it was an entertaining example of the genre that the original series more or less created along with the Halloween series.

Other than that, I’ve been watching a lot of Angry Video Game Nerd videos.  I think they’re funny as hell. 

El Poderoso

Log in to write a note
February 28, 2009

The title of your entry is the name of one of my other favorites. thought that was strange…

OMG, Big Fish is one of my favorite movies! I watched it at the time in my life where you come to realize that your parents are just people, like you, and don’t have any answers. It was really enlightening.