Wight Spider

So here, by request, is a picture of my garage-painting exploits.  The whole thing probably could have turned out better, but I’m no professional.  It was also sort of a rush job, all things considered. 

I did the outline freehand with a Sharpie, then Jordan and I spent like two hours masking the whole thing off with blue tape.  After that it got two coats of primer and two coats of black spray paint.  The red hourglass that you can barely see in this picture, since it was taken at about midnight, was just sprayed freehand onto the white space I had masked off.  I was in a rush to get done, and rather than wait for the paint to set up completely so it wouldn’t get pulled off by the tape, I just reasoned that a coat of red probably wouldn’t show on the black if they overlapped a little, so I just got in close and did a few quick moves with the red can to fill it in.  I had a lot of fun doing the whole thing, I just wish we could have started earlier so I wouldn’t have ended up working under that damn shop light and all the bugs rural Mississippi has to offer.

Oh, and thanks to the new Marilyn Manson album for the uncharacteristically fitting title.

 

Log in to write a note
June 15, 2009

Oh, I didn’t know it would be the Venom spider.