Photograph

Ha, Def Leppard song title works really well here.  I got un-lazy sooner than I thought, so here’s my pic entry. There are quite a few pictures here, so this entry may be difficult to load on slower connections.  I hope there aren’t too many for the entry, but I guess I can always do more than one if necessary.  Don’t forget to read the previous entry, because it sets most of this up, and as such I won’t use many words after this point.  Enjoy, and excuse the quality of some of these pictures– they were all taken with one cell phone or another.

Here’s a view of Birmingham from the balcony under the Vulcan statue.

And here’s a shot of Vulcan himself.

 

The rock garden in the Japanese section of the Birmingham Botanical Gardens.

This bastard spit some partially digested plant matter on me.

A prehistoric monster called an alligator snapping turtle.

Two great shots of an Indo-Chinese tiger.
 it's too bad this pic doesn't come with sound, because he was really giving us a show here.

And finally, yours truly, hanging out with half a dozen lorikeets. Yeah, I blurred my face out, deal with it.

These guys were really friendly.  I like how that one is just sort of perched on imagination there on my shirt, most likely because he doesn’t realize what he’s doing is impossible.  I think this was my favorite part of the whole zoo, with the tiger and giant turtle tied for a close second, since they were both very close to us (although thankfully much better seperated from us than the lorikeets) and both very impressive.  But they didn’t hop around on my arm and drink from a little cup in my hand.

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
September 15, 2009

You might blur your face, but I still know what you look like. So, take that! Did Minnie not do her usual take pictures of everything with that nice camera she has?

🙂 I hate bird feet, that would scare me to death. AND i love your rocker hair.

September 16, 2009

Aren’t birds the most awesome things ever?! I’m super jealous of you in that last picture. Even if your face is all swirly. 🙂 Lorikeets are beautiful.

September 16, 2009

Man, you look weird in that pic.. *grins* Birds are seriously the only animals that freak me out!

September 16, 2009

Ryn: Oh man, it’s the coolest thing ever when birds let you handle them. Or pick you as a perch. It means they aren’t afraid of you. 🙂 At least the ones sitting on you were just perched there and not trying to hump your hand like Bruce does to me…