Neverender

It seems that the major result of not working (other than not making money, of course) is having a lot less to talk about.  Stll, a totally acceptable loss in my opinion.

I finally got a cd player in my car!  Yeesh, that looks lame now that I’ve typed it out.  I don’t know if you can even get a car without a factory cd player these days.  But in 1995 you could, and back then cd’s were a luxury and everybody still had cassettes.  I’m pretty sure that cd players were available in the 95 Park Avenue, but mine, even with its motorized adjustable seats and mirrors, wasn’t quite special enough an edition.  (Did I ever mention that my old ’77 Cutlass Supreme was a "Brougham" edition?  It was the absolute best version of that car available. I wonder what made it so. The eight-track player perhaps?)  Anyway, my mother’s 2000 model Park Avenue did have a cd player– a cd cassette combo in fact– and I may have mentioned at some point in the past that after she wrecked it she said I could take anything from it that would also work in my car.  I went down there and jimmy-jacked the stereo several months ago, but when I got it home and decided to put it in my car, I couldn’t figure out how to get the dash panel off.  Five years make a lot of difference in the way that sort of thing is engineered.  In ’95 they didn’t care if you figured that shit out our not, while in 2000 it almost seemed too obvious.  The good news is that the stereos used by GM hadn’t changed a bit, or at least on these two particular cars, so when I was at my brother’s house yesterday and we decided out of the blue to actually work on it, it was no trouble at all.  It actually wasn’t all that hard to get my dash apart after all– if I had known about the single screw hidden behind each of the four air-conditioning vents, I could have done the job myself months ago.  And to think I was on the verge of giving some yahoo $50 to do it at a stereo shop!  No thank you, if they’re all that easy, those guys are ripping people off something fierce. 

Now I just hope I don’t forget to bring some cd’s along next time I leave the house…  Ooh, and now if I actually buy a cd somewhere, I don’t have to wait until I get home to listen to it anymore! 

Log in to write a note
June 5, 2009

Good for you! I love having my CD player in my car…but it seems that CD’s get scratched easily when shuffling them about every day.

June 5, 2009

Now if we only had cars that were iPod compatible. That’s the new thing.

June 5, 2009

Haha. I’m with Pam. I need something that will play the songs I have stored in my phone now. Oh the good old days of installing after market decks. Good times.