Ghost Behind My Eyes

Watched the new Potter movie last night.  I wonder if anybody in the theater was unaware of the "surprise?"  I think that particular spoiler was so widespread that everybody knew it.  Other than that, I feel as though I should reread the book, or better yet I wish I had reread it before I watched the movie, because there are certain details I don’t remember.  For instance, the movie starts with ol’ Harry sitting in a diner reading a newspaper, and Dumbledore shows up to haul him out of there just before he was to meet a girl who worked at said diner.  I don’t remember that at all.  Then it shows a bunch of Death Eaters wreaking some major havoc– things like destroying bridges bridges and whatnot.  It seems like that might not go unnoticed.  I don’t suppose they give a damn who notices them, but point is I don’t remember it happening in the book.  The *ahem* climactic confrontation (just in case somebody out there doesn’t know, I’ll keep it spoiler-free) takes place in a tower of some sort in the movie, while in the book I could have sworn it was on the roof, and furthermore the, uh, surprise falls out of a window of said tower after it happens (that’s right, the surprise happens and then falls out of a window), whereas I seem to remember that it stayed pretty firmly on the roof in the book.  Also, when Harry confronts the perpetrator of said surprise, I thought that was still on the roof as well, but in the film he chases that person down to Hagrid’s house, which is promptly set ablaze by a member of the perpetrator’s entourage.  I don’t remember that happening either.  To be honest, I wouldn’t have considered it a spoiler to mention the name of the person who set the blaze, but I can’t remember it.  Helena-Bonham Carter’s character.  

 I wonder how much it would cost to put an ad in the paper for my marriage services, like a nice one.  And have it run every week right next to the church stuff.  There’s church stuff in papers right?  I actually don’t look at newspapers, like, ever.  Or maybe a radio ad, that might be cool.  I know churches advertise on the radio, I’ve heard that.  The problem is that it would cost anything.  I don’t want to pay anything for it for a lot of reasons.  Hm.

Log in to write a note
July 17, 2009

I don’t remember any of the stuff you don’t remember, and do remember what you remember. But, it’s been years since I read it, too, and the assumed “changes” don’t seem like that big of a deal. I’m gonna go see it either tonight or tomorrow.

July 17, 2009

ryn: Thanks. :p

July 17, 2009

I am hoping to watch the movie this weekend. You failed to mention how the movie was overall…