Clairvoyant Disease

We finally got to go look at that place… I may not have mentioned that we were planning to do so.  Sooo… pretend I did. 

Anyway, it’s just a few miles from where I live now, in the actual town of Rienzi.  (I saw a recent census– population roughly 350) It isn’t actually a house, but is an old two-story building on the corner of main street (one of the two major roads in town).  The downstairs has been a store a couple of times in the last ten or fifteen years, and the upstairs is currently a rather nice apartment.  I was actually quite shocked at how nice the place is, what with its brightly-colored walls and nice cabinets.  The bedrooms were a bit small for my taste, but Minnie suggested that we could just knock out the wall between the two and have one large one.  I dunno, when you think about having an entire dwelling available to house all your crap rather than just one room, it might be okay to have a room that only holds a bed and such. 

The ground floor is actually sort of horrible, but it just because it’s a huge mess.  The owner of the building, who doesn’t occupy the apartment upstairs it turns out, uses it for a shop where he builds cabinets and things, so most of the mess would be gone when he took all his junk out.  That junk being mostly tools and lots of scrap wood.  So since Minnie and I have no aspirations of running a business we were talking about converting the ground floor into more living area, like mostly for general hanging out.  It’s a rather large room, so it could be a game room, tv lounge, or hell, an art studio.  It could pretty easily be a combination of any or all those things.  We talked about probably putting in a drop ceiling down there, since the plumbing from upstairs is visible.  Not that that’s a bad thing; if anything goes wrong with it all we’d have to do is take out a ceiling tile or two and climb up to work on it.  Better than crawling around in a tight space.  It all has a lot of potential to be the awesomest place ever.  But of course, we’re keeping our options open.  We’d probably be just as happy with pretty much anything that wasn’t a huge pile of garbage.  That and we haven’t actually taken any steps to see if we could even get a loan for this sort of thing.  We’ll probably find our progress halted pretty quickly when it comes to that. 

Log in to write a note
June 2, 2009

That sounds like an amazing living area! There are so many possibilities for the ground floor.

June 2, 2009

Wow. That sounds amazing. That’s the kind of place I’d love to live in.

June 2, 2009

This may be because this town is snobby, but credit union told me that I was supposed to have have a certain amount of money in the bank, depending on the price of the house, for at least two months in order to cover down payment, closing fees, etc. I thought that was a fairly shitty system, seeing as any house I want is cheaper than rent, but I can’t save up a huge chunk of money.

June 4, 2009

Re: I was namely uncomfortable because I’ve heard horror stories about how cops abuse their privileges, and this happened to be a night where I was wearing “asking for it” clothes. : Specifically the red thing Milla was wearing in the first Resident Evil. With the short black skirt under it and everything. I was far more comfortable with fleeing the scene than calmly approaching them and asking what the problem was.