safe at home.

soundtrack for 4-20 entry, "My Beautiful Rescue," This Providence. 

i found out today that my first boyfriend, the one who i fell for at 16 years old. and mourned for his loss at 18 years old, the one who went away to college and fell in love with someone else…
I found out today that my first boyfriend is now engaged. 
I had a nice chuckle and a smile about it. 
he always did like being in love. i honestly hope he finds all the happiness in the world. 
it was strange and surreal moment realizing that 5 years ago i was the girl to whom he mused to about white picket fences. 

but then i ponder my own love life. and the presence of tangible white fences. they are there, in front of our own reality. 
and smile at my own luck. 
and smile at that connection – the white picket fence that i noticed the first time i pulled into the driveway. 
at home with a friend, a lover, and a perfect companion. that’s what home is. 
and the butterflies persist. 
i see snapshots, slideshows, moving pictures and bodies together. warm in bed. or eyes staring into mine under fluorescent lights and swirling steam. 
wounds are cauterized and pain is alleviated by the intertwining of limbs. 

i used to think that autumn was my favorite season. 
i still adore the smell of the leaves. the memories of carving pumpkin’s in a basement, listening to dashboard. 
but i’m learning to love the shocking green of spring. the huge pink buds that are visible from the bathroom window, the smell of rain and the combination of all of those elements that make for a perfect environment to fall into arms that are there, waiting for the newness to cover them. to cradle it. nurture it like a sapling.
this is the start of new life. the thrill of it all. 

i’d give anything for this life. for this change from the cold of winter. and the harshness of fickle hearts. 

i have so many more things to say. i always do. 
but. 
my heart distracts me from the work at hand. and i’ve got to get back to the grind. 

Log in to write a note

Autumn has always been my favorite, but spring is a very close second. It is just so full of life and promise! Then autumn, even though everything is kind of dying, is so full of color that you can’t help but love it.

April 21, 2009

it was so weird when my first love got married. ryn: i know. yeah. im trying.

April 21, 2009

Spring is so important for me. I’m acclimated to the South and its early spring now, so I don’t know how I’d move up north without falling into a seasonal-affective depression. Seriously. When I saw the first buds on trees this year I almost teared up in relief. It’s a good season to begin a new romance, too.

April 22, 2009

there is this timeless quality in your romanticism. it has passion and depth. i think it comes from feeling much pain. isn’t it something how one feeling can enhance and make better an opposite one?!

if you’re not headed to aus until january then yes i think we need to do the damn thing! maybe what we should do is find a half way point between both of us and go there and shop and drink and giggle and hug! 🙂 yay!!!! what made you change your mind, btw? i need to catch up on your life!

April 24, 2009

ohhhhh bah humbug. this entry had me going, but those last lines were depressing! I love Spring. The trees are bare and the bushes are in bloom. Beautiful pink flowers like a splash of paint with a clear view of the river which would otherwise be obscured. I love the Spring.