Forward Motion and Standing Still

I wonder if I’ll always struggle in adulthood.  
Are dreams always doomed to be dashed? Drowned?
I see myself being capable of great things, but I can’t just wait for some rich benefactor to come along.

That’s not the way life works.
So. We toil away in office jobs when we could be making a difference.
But we have school loans. And rent. And miscellaneous debt floating around.
And this is the mire that is adulthood? Are we forever-stuck?

How does one facilitate dreaming?
We don’t want children (at least not for a long time – and when we do, it’s adoption all the way). We don’t want much at all.
We want a house. We want a space of our own. We want to work from home and create. And plant a garden. And contribute to our community.
How on earth do you do that?

I want to write.
I’ve been thinking of blogging the search for memories of my father. But who would read?
Is that even the point anymore?
In this age of viral marketing, social media… what is real anymore? What is sincere? Or are we all trying to better ourselves and forward our own ideals.

I don’t hate my job.
However I could be so much more fulfilled. How often do you hear your employees begging for more responsibility.
I’ve asked.
I’ve asked again.
I’ve said with complete confidence that I could do it. I’ve laid out ideas. I’ve given growth strategies.
I think they think I’m too young. Too prone to laziness as seen by my generation?
I want to work hard. But I can’t just make up things to do – no one notices when I do anyway.

How do we make ourselves happy in a world that rewards complacency, falling in line, lack of creativity, “loyalty”, obedience?
I need more.

ion Locked=”false” Priority=”73″ SemiHidden=”false”
UnhideWhenUsed=”false” Name=”Colorful Grid Accent 1″ />

<w:LsdException Locked="false" Priority="64" SemiHidden="false"
UnhideWhenUsed=”false” Name=”Medium Shading 2 Accent 6″ />

I wonder if I’ll always struggle in adulthood.  
Are dreams always doomed to be dashed? Drowned?
I see myself being capable of great things, but I can’t just wait for some rich benefactor to come along and say, “Sure Meghan, I’d LOVE to finance that vintage shop, ideas for a geriatric art program,

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

<w:LsdException Locked="false"

Priority=”64″ SemiHidden=”false”
UnhideWhenUsed=”false” Name=”Medium Shading 2″ />

<w:LsdException Locked="false" Priority="66" SemiHidden="false"
UnhideWhenUsed="false" Name="

Log in to write a note
March 27, 2012

I feel that way in my job so I’m about to go back to school and stick myself with so much debt that I’ll REALLY never be able to get out of it. Le sigh.

i would read it.

March 28, 2012

go where you can work hard. and you know i’d read it. but i don’t think that’s why you’d be writing it, for others to read.

March 29, 2012

oh my god, yes! yes this is exactly it.

April 3, 2012

adoption, hells yeah 🙂 hi!

thanks for you note on sharing a facebook album. I want to try it with you. can you see the photos in this album? http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.119944741456809.20370.100003238524376&type=3&l=2c810e6f9b if you can see them can you leave notes on them?

April 21, 2012

That pretty much sums up adulthood sans your body trying to betray you.

April 22, 2012

You write beautifully, so anyone would be honoured to read anything you wrote. Be sincere in all you do and that will shine through. I’m sure that you can gage others sincerity too, at leaast of those you know. I empathise with the point of your post. It’s hard squaring the circle, fulfilling the unfulfilled. You’ll get there!

I couldn’t agree with this post more.