07/19/2009

home from a week at the beach.
old friends.
it’s strange how relationships morph throughout the years. how people change. how your love changes.
i want to hold on to our 13 year old selves. how we loved each other then.
23 is a mess of emotions. bills. waiting. heart breaks and drunken endeavors.

my college experience, the past 4 years were so different for me.
i have nothing to connect to them, it seems.
it’s like the thoughts before a break up.
and it throws me into an incredibly numb depression.

and then i think about waking up alone.
i think about the choices i’ve made in the past 4 months. and the unstoppable responsibilities that are to follow.

a house. bills. a life that i had not foreseen only  months ago.
i mourn for the loss of friends who went through unbelievable trials with me.
and then they just disappear.
memories become building blocks. stepping stones.

i wish i could write more.
i’ve got a banana bread in the oven.
i’ve got a boyfriend on his way home from a funeral.
a twitch in my left eye that has been there all day. a consequence of all my face scrunching last night, as i remembered and regretted forgiving.
there are things to be done.
and not enough time to sit alone with my thoughts.

this is seemingly too complicated to get right the first time.
it requires another entry tomorrow.

Log in to write a note
July 19, 2009

i like the way that you write 🙂

July 19, 2009

can’t wait to hear what’s going on. *hug*

July 19, 2009

*hug* I hope you enjoyed your beach trip. And banana bread is lovely. I hope you’re doing well.

July 19, 2009

I’ve noticed too that friends, dare I say acquaintances, in college can easily disappear.

I hope it gets better for you soon.

July 20, 2009

Time to sit with your thoughts is precious. Maybe you can find a quiet corner soon.

July 20, 2009

i’m hopeful about old friends. not that you aren’t. enjoy your banana bread! 🙂

i wish i could hold onto my relationships with my friends from the teenage years. i mean i am still friends with them, but things are different now. more gaps in conversations and things like that. doesn’t mean i don’t love them as much, just means we are getting old. blah.

I’m going through the opposite. After HS, I lost all my friends, either by them being stupid over boys, or me shutting myself off from everyone because of what the other ones did. And so I’ve been out 6 years, and haven’t talked to anyone. Recently, I’ve been re-connecting, and it feels fabulous! I’m just hoping it keeps, and doesn’t go back down the drain. Though, there are some I won’t forgive.

July 22, 2009

i definately feel ya on this one! people do change and life changes itself. i remember about a year after high school feeling depressed and wondering where life went from there. its strange.