[[p]]closer.

he speaks a language that i don’t understand
but the words feel good whispered against my skin
the silk sheets of love are sliding over my body
in waves and ocean breezes

he smells like summer after it rains
when the asphalt steams as if the world is cooking

i’m the memory that sticks to the inside of his brain
like overchewed gum on the underside of your desk
and i am the wind that blows his car to my house
in the middle of the night so i can say that i love him.

he feels like a fireplace in the middle of winter
when the air is frigid but my insides are warm

it’s the thoughts of forever that keep us together
that big house in the middle of no where
where the world moves slower and life is simple
and the words between us are all that we need

he sings the melodies that lull me to sleep
when the trees against my windows try to keep me awake

i am the angel that brought him back to life
but i got lost on my journey from heaven
it took a long time to fnd my way to where i was going
but now that i got there i’ve got no plans of leaving.

he is the latern that lights up my insides
when i can’t see the thoughts running around in my head

it’s the nights without him that are the hardest to live
i breathe better with his arms around my waist
tongues tasting the crevices of the dreams that we carry
infinite attempts to get closer and closer
but not ever close enough.

Log in to write a note
May 23, 2007

through the seasons of life, bittersweet strife, weather the storm and turn out the lights. in the blue-blackest of nights, wear the stars like a veil and the milky way as a string of pearls, the moons gravity stirs my thoughts towards memories of you. …i am restless …relentless thoughts, albeit few and far between.