Remarried

The ex remarried on Saturday.  She called a few days prior to see if I would return our son to her Friday night so she could take him to a family reunion, as she put it, on Saturday.  She said she would drop him back off with me Saturday night.  I consented.

So, I drop our son off at her house Friday night and early Saturday evening, keeping her word, she drops him off back at my house.  She just asks when I plan on returning him home before taking off.  My son and I go back into the house to place his suitcase inside.  I ask him how the reunion went and he says okay.  I ask him what he ate.  We sit on the couch to watch television.  He then states that he wants me to know that his mommy and her boyfriend of seven years married at the reunion.  I was shocked.  I wanted him to clarify.  I asked him if he meant that her boyfriend proposed.  He said no.  They married.  I remembered that her uncle is a minister and was the one who probably performed the ceremony as he was the once that married us.  

I know the ex and I have been apart for so long now and that she has been with her boyfriend for a while now.  The original plan had been for them to get married soon after her pregnancy from another man.  I thought after all these years that he had been stalling and would never marry her.  That was a bit consoling for me as that meant she would still have my name attached to her.  After the divorce, the ex kept my last name.  She even gave her second child my last name.  I was not thrilled about that one bit.  But, her keeping my name I felt that she was keeping me as an important part of her life.  Now, she will have the name of another attached to her.  I will no longer have the consolation that I was the only man she ever married and whose name she had ever taken. 

 

Log in to write a note