Better Diet Day

Today was a better day in sticking to my diet for the most part.  This morning I had two chicken legs for breakfast.  For  lunch I tried my hand at making pizza with a ground beef crust.  Didn’t quite turn out the way I was hoping for.  It tasted like meatloaf topped with mozzarella and pepperoni.  Next time I will try a different method of making the ground beef crust.  But, I was excited in that I found a “no sugar added” tomato paste for the sauce.  In the past when I craved low-carb pizza, I would use an alternative crust such as eggplant but I did not like that typical tomato sauces have added sugar.  At the time, it did not occur to me to check out tomato pastes.  But, now that I found those low-carb tomato pastes, I can have alternative pizzas more often.

Now, I like to keep my carb count at 10 grams a day but my dinner sort of kicked that idea to the curb tonight.  I bought one of those ThinkThin protein bars at the little shop at my work.  Sometimes, they have the ThinkThin bars that are truly low carb but not tonight.  I just now looked at the wrapper.  I was wondering while I was eating it that it didn’t quite taste like peanut butter.  Well, that is because I accidentally grabbed salted caramel.  Oops.  I was too focused on the nutritional information.  Anyway, the protein bar has 15 net carbs.  Then, I grabbed a protein shake that has 2 net carbs.  So, my breakfast was about 0 grams carbs, lunch about 5 grams max, and dinner 17 net grams for a total of about 22 grams today.  So, not that bad.  Twenty grams is supposed to be the standard limit anyway, I believe.  But, I prefer the weight loss progress when I stick to 10 grams.

I managed to get a little exercise today, too.  I decided to take public transit tonight to work as that involves a 30 minute walk to the rail station and forces another 30 minute walk to get back home from the rail station.  I really need to get some exercise in more often but it is a start.

 

Log in to write a note
February 9, 2018

What about cauliflower crust? I have never tried it but everyone raves about it.