Evil by any other name

First let me preface this post by saying I am not an expert nor properly educated in this matter. I am just a being who was blessed with the ability to connect dots and make decisions based on what I see. I am not saying that I am correct in my assumptions nor am I advising you to believe anything I say. I just ask that you read what I have to say and consider that mainstream society has been basing fact off of opinion much longer than I have and I am just trying to share in the right to do so.

Thank you,
~DK

Lucifer in "Paradise Lost" by John Milton

Darkness creeps in and my name you call,
Satan, Lblis, Lucifer, no matter I answer to all.
Sin is my weapon and desire my tool,
I corrupt all, King, Knight, jester or fool.
So beware tired soul for I’ll strike when I can,
I’ll poison the mind of child, woman or man.
But like the boogeyman or monsters under the bed,
The only place that I hide is in the back of your head.

Let me introduce you to the Satan that most of us know.  For the most part all of the popular religions have the same view on the “Prince of Darkness”*.  He was cast down from Heaven for actions that stemmed from his jealousy towards Adam. As the story goes the Angels were created by God to be perfect beings, capable of nothing but love and devotion towards God. Lucifer was among the “Lords” of the angels and considered by many to be his “right hand man”. God, in his all-knowing state decided that a being who does not have the choice or free will to love but instead the order to do so creates a feeling of emptiness.

Enter Adam.  God creates man. Man has the choice to love God and in turn God loves him back. God is pleased with his new creation so much that he favors man over the Angels, much to the chagrin of Lucifer. Now the order of affairs is different for every religion but what seems to be the most common belief is  that Lucifer convinced Eve to pick an “apple” from the “Tree of Knowledge” and feed it to Adam.** After this Adam and Eve are sent from Paradise and the Garden of Eden to roam Earth. A council is set up in Heaven made up of the Angels with God presiding over it. Lucifer was the Accuser or prosecutor of man. He was charged with proving that man was inferior to Angles. As the story goes he tried many times to win God’s favor but failed each time. Lucifer started an uprising and was eventually defeated and banished to Hell. Now this is where my belief strays from the mainstream. I can accept the “history” thus far but when the subject of Hell comes into play I have another theory.

The bible defines Hell as “a place devoid of God” or “The eternal absence of God”. Now it also says that in death we are to be buried with our heads facing east to await the return of Christ***. So lets say that The Revelation occurs and every believer is taken to join God in his Kingdom. Who is left? The nonbelievers or “heathens”. So now we have Earth and it’s people but God is gone. We have no one left to spread the Word or share in their faith. So we have a world without God. We have Hell. Now a lot of stories say that Satan can not enter our world because of a boundary enforced by God. If that is true why is he called “the god of this world” (2 Corinthians 4:4) and “the prince of this world” (John 12:31 and 14:30) So my theory is this, that if all of the followers of God are gone then earth becomes Hell. We are left on this desolate rock without the one thing that God can guarantee. Hope. The belief in God revolves around hope that we will be saved. So where does that leave Satan? In every man or woman who ever doubts the existence of God because it destroys our hope that there is something else after life.

So in a nutshell I don’t believe in an actual Satan. I think Satan is much like Santa Claus in the fact that we always have to have a face to go along with our actions. We can’t just say “I want to buy you a present’ or “If you are bad I won’t buy you anything.” Santa Claus is used just as much to instill fear into children as love. Why else would there be a naughty or nice list? Satan is the face of our sin. He is our “scapegoat”. He is the opposition of God that manifests himself in every one of us.

If I may make a suggestion, if you are looking for answers about Satan, make the call yourself. I can recommend reading “Paradise Lost” by John Milton. It is an excellent story that depicts Satan very well.

I will close by saying that if you are searching for answers follow one simple rule.

“Be guided by man but never lead by him.”
~DK

Footnotes

*My personal favorite of the names given to Satan. If he is the “Prince of Darkness” who is the King? I only know one being more powerful.

**I just wanted to add that I do not believe in the “Tree of Knowledge” as an actual tree but instead the exploration of sexuality.

***An out of date practice. Christ was thought to rise with the sun when He returned.

Log in to write a note

I have utterly no belief in “Jehovah” “Yahweh” or whoever. I have utterly NO belief in “Satan” and yeah, every story needs a villian. Look at all the hoorah over the newly discovered gospel of Judas LOL Sure did mess with christian hate for that one. LOL have a good one!

August 21, 2007

Hi. Thank you for the note. I enjoyed reading your entries by the way.

Very nice. This is an insight I have not heard before. One thing though. You point out that Satan is like Santa Claus. Someone created by man to stike fear into children that they will not get any toys or get “a lump of coal” if they are bad. Is “God” not the same then? Created by man to bring a sence of peace, love, and happiness. I know, there’s the Bible. Was this not also created by man?

“Translated” by man? Who says that mans translation is accurate? Who says that what is in the Bible is meant to be taken literally? Or is it just a story meant to strike fear that if you do wrong in “Gods” eyes you will go to this so-called “Hell”.

August 21, 2007

Thank you so much for writing about this. I really like your thinking on various subjects, including this one. I have experienced hell, and certainly didn’t need to leave this planet to do so. I am quite grateful that most days now I am connected to a Higher Power and the hope that resides in that connection with ample evidence in personal experience. But yes, Hell would be anyplace without God’s presence, and Satan would be the personification of the many things that cross our path and take us away from a conscious connection with our source of love, hope and light. Well done, and with footnotes too!

RE: I know. Just some fat to chew on so-to-speak. Not saying you believe or don’t believe. Just question. I have a reading suggestion that is a work of fiction, but explores the dark side a bit. The books are by Anne Bishop: Daughte of the Blood, Heir to the Shadows, and Queen of the Darkness (The Black Jewels Trilogy).

Really excellent. I’ve had much of the same thoughts on Satan and “hell”. I don’t think either really exist. And if anything, “hell” exists here on earth. Lots of thoughts swirling in my mind, but im not in the right state to write it all down to make any kind of sense. Maybe next time 🙂

Thanks for the advice, i’ll try it next time 🙂

It’s all a puzzle to me.

I was hoping the bolder, bigger text would make it easier.

Hey, it will be a while before DragonFly is back up again. She’s on temporary leave until some things are sorted out. Still have diary, just private for now.

Thanks me too. When are you going to make another entry? You really need to. I want to read more. I check daily to see if there is anything new.

RE: Yay *claps hands*! I can’t wait to see what you’ve got this time. Thanks. I really hope this means I have a job now. I need it even more now than I did a month ago. Because of stuff that is going on at home.

Thanks. Had to take a break. I am really tired. I wrote the baseball one first. It’s stupid, but I am not interested in baseball at all. We were supposed to pick one thing to write about. I just wrote a general paper. Hopefully my jazz one will be a lot better.

August 30, 2007

well just to be a pain, i have to agree on some points and disagree on others. i believe there is a Satan because the Bible says there is. If we’re going to believe in a book we should believe in the whole book. and while i agree that not everything in there is meant to be taken literally the bible refers specifically to a “being” by the name of the devil/tempter in Matthew where Jesus is tempted.

December 3, 2007

I don’t think hell is the absence of god at all. I mean.. if you’re religious I suppose that’s all well and good for you to assume… I mean scientifically it’s alot like how a body loses heat to air (all that’s left is cold). But for a non-believer, I’d say that to live without god in my life is to simply LIVE. No hell. No fear. No emptiness. Just make with my life what I want FROM my life. ~SB~