Substance Dualism

For a short while:

Time moves backwards.

We are seated on the bed, sated and laughing.
You never have been able to inhale, but there are ways around that.

And maybe I don’t know what time is, or what age is, because it’s all much less linear than I’d presumed. Not just in this moment, but in all of it.

A whole comprised of two parts, rarely in harmony – insurrection on the cellular level, warring with the incorporeal.

For a short while:

We are seated on the bed, and nothing else matters but this. Your green eyes, my sharp tongue.

And time ceases to exist.

Log in to write a note
August 31, 2023

Memories; misty water colored memories…

August 31, 2023

The older I get the more I realize it’s  all non-linear. This could be the future, or yesterday, or 20 years ago. Also, very much my plans for this weekend. Aging isn’t how I thought it would be.

September 1, 2023

@the-idiot The future, the past, the present. It’s all the same. But it’s also very different. Distinct. I am not who I was 20 years ago. Or 10 years ago. Or 10 years from now. What does that mean?

 

does it mean anything?

September 1, 2023

@laynemeyer2

I am somewhat obsessed with progression and all the selves we can be in the course of a lifetime. Some things change in momentous, life altering ways. Some things barely change at all. Some things feel like a brief rewind.

I find my mind and my body aren’t always on the same page about this aging process, so the moments when everything aligns feel particularly precious.

September 1, 2023

@laynemeyer2

It can mean anything. &/or nothing. But it’s rarely what I envisioned 20 years ago. Sometimes it’s minutiae and mundanity. This weekend it’s a day date and a new dress and edibles.

September 5, 2023

@the-idiot While I may Mr wear new dresses, I understand the appeal. As for the edibles, it’s on my list to get into.  I need someone to take that voyage with. I have that person in mind, but so far the universe has been uncooperative.

September 5, 2023

@laynemeyer2 it’s never too late to try a new thing 😂 but seriously, more about pain management now than when I was younger.

September 6, 2023

@the-idiot You make it sound very appealing. Maybe I should give the dress a go.