Morus

On Monday I stay up all night.

One thought rolls into another, ideas begetting ideas.

A constellation that mimics a twisted spine. A bouquet of grief, insecurity, and regret.

Mulberry, I learn, means I will not survive you. Another novel fact for my collection.

I am momentarily amused – the idea of ascribing so much to something so benign.

It’s not a small thing to say: I will not survive you. No, it’s the kind of thing that shifts existences.

I’m reminded of Pyramus of Thisbe. I’m reminded of you.

And understanding blooms, because I would not have survived you.

I remember our mulberry tree, all that time we spent beneath it, not knowing.

Maybe this is funny after all.

Log in to write a note
September 21, 2023

“I will not survive you.” What a monument of a statement. Love every part of this.

September 21, 2023

@scullyfiend

There is so much implied in those five words, so much weight to them.

Also, can you imagine literally gifting someone mulberry with this intent behind it?

September 26, 2023

No idea mulberry meant that…

heavy thoughts here…wow.  I will not survive you.  We all know that person, or kind of person…

 

September 26, 2023

@strawberryjelly I definitely had mine, and he still haunts me twenty years later.