Winter on the River

Hi
Hope you are well, so many issues!
 
Winter has turned the corner from the wet weather of summer into the dry, clear, warm normal winter we expect.
Warm and winter don’t seem to be the words that fit but as you would know summer can be hot and wet and winter warm and dry.
The river is placid, big flocks of pelicans soar on the light thermal breezes as do the flocks of forktail kites.
In the river logs of Mahogony float by to be lassooed in and cut up for timber and firewood.
 
Its one of the pleasures of life on the river.
 
Barry and Leslie come over from next door to sit and yarn and spotted a log floating by.
I spring to action and soon I am out on the river  towing it back to shore, Barry joins in his dinghy to pull the front of the log around.
 
That night, late on the tide I pull the log higher onto the slipway to prepare for cutting.
The log was a Moreton Bay Fig, some of the timber is interesting whilst some water damaged and soft and only suitable for firewood.
 
Even in our equitable climate the fire has been an enjoyable part of of our mild winter.
 
My son Timothy has passed his next  Master Mariners ticket!
 

have just got back to gladstone tonight for a 3 week swing done masters 4 orals on tuesday and passed have now. got a ticket to drive a 35 metre boat out too  600 miles in australia. and a 80 metre vessel to 15 miles off shore. pretty rapped been a will in the making but have made it. alot of time spent studying but can park the books up now.  sorry wont be around to go sailing but enjoy
love Tim

 

We were to go to our grandsons wedding in 3 weeks but there is still a lot of uncertainty over my daughters mental health so we will not go. Instead we are going to stay with my grandson and his fiance next weekend and spend a pleasant time getting to know them both as a couple.

 

I prepare for the adventure of Sept 12th when I fly to Melbourne to set sail for Tasmania, meanwhile I console myself casting Pelican adrift this weekend to go down the river an explore the narrows.

 

 

Log in to write a note
August 8, 2013

congratulations to your son. I love the cartoon from Wind on the Willows….I presume Froggy is you. go well. hugs p

August 9, 2013

xxx

August 24, 2013

🙂