Shed Tenant

6.30pm
"Tawhiri, Hi its Bill from Down Town Real Estate."

"Bill, how are you going"

"Great. Tawhiri, you have Brian Fielding leasing one of your sheds. The next door neighbors have been kept awake by an alarm going off in Brian’s shed several times a night."

"OK Bill, I’ll have a talk to Brian and see what I can do."

"Brian, hi, its Tawhiri here. Just a little problem with the alarm system, can you sort it."

"Oh no, that can’t be right Tawhiri, it’s a state of the art system that rings through to the security firm and then has to be reset. It can’t go off more than once."

"OK then Brian. Thanks for that I’ll see you later."

8.30pm
"Peter, I own the sheds next door, you’ve had a problem with the alarm going off at night."

"Yeah, that’s right Tawhiri. I kept a log and it went off 7 times from 3am and I’m not getting any sleep."

"Ok then Peter, Ive talked to Brian. He won’t give you his phone No, so if it goes off again ring me no matter what the time of night and I’ll sort it."

6.30 am next morning
"Brrr, brrr, Brrr, brrr."

"Good morning, Tawhiri here."

"Hi, its Peter. The alarm is going off, can you hear it."

"Yeah, I’ll be right over."

"Brrr, brrr, Brrr, brrr."

"Brian, good morning. Could you come out the shed and see to this alarm."

"Tawhiri, do they reckon its going off! It can’t be, I haven’t received a phone call and the system is state of the art!"

"Brian, call up the technician and come out. John in the next shed saw it going off and the light flashing."

9am
Brian and Technician arrive, technician repeats Brian’s statement.

" It can’t be the system, the light would still be flashing, the computer would have recorded the alarm signal. The phone system would have activated. Ask John again, maybe he heard wrong. Perhaps the Peter next door is setting off an alarm to harass us."
 
John re-affirms the alarm went off and we find no other alarm systems in the area.

"What are you going to do Brian, its obviously a main board fault."

"Well, if the Technician finds nothing wrong I’ll activate it and see if it goes off tonight."

"Well Brian, do you and the technician want to buy a pack of beer and camp here the night to monitor it because I sure as hell don’t see that I should  have to look after your shed."

"Well no, I don’t want to camp here the night Tawhiri."

"OK, then Brian, I ring you when it goes off at 3am in the morning and we can do this all again."
So!!

Who do you trust?

Your eyes, ears and your intelligence?

People that have a legitimate grievance?

Tenants that wont take responsibility for his property or actions?

A technician, that believes in state of the art technology?

Log in to write a note
January 16, 2013

sounds right to me chuckles