Sea Hill Lighthouse

Sea Hill Lighthouse

I left the busy construction site on Curtis Island and Gladstone and entered the Narrows, a shallow channel between Curtis Island and the mainland. The Narrows are so shallow in one place the cattle are driven through the fences leading into the water and swam across to the mainland.

  
By evening I was through into deeper water and anchored. In the morning I sailed to Sea Hill Lighthouse on the North East corner of Curtis Island. It was a pretty little lighthouse although now no longer operational. I sailed to  Port Alma, I think it has seen better days of shipping and the hoped for pub and a counter meal didn’t happen so I sailed north.
 
 
 
Around the top of Curtis Island I passed Hummocky Island, Cape Capricorn Lighthouse and Rundle Island before settling in for an afternoon sail to anchor in the shelter of Facing Island. I was keeping a fairly solid pace as I wanted to get further south before any southerly change came.
 
After spending the day at Pancake creek I sailed the next morning for Round Hill and the Town of 1770. This is a really pretty place, friendly staff at the marina and the restaurant had the best burger and chips ever. Children played in the shallows to keep cool and bikini clad young ladies were easy on the eye for me.
 

 
Town of 1770
 
Next morning I sailed to Burnet Heads and anchored in the harbor for the night, I was in home country now and would spend the next few days here relaxing before sailing east to Fraser Island.

Log in to write a note
December 21, 2012

Beautiful photos!! Thanks.

December 22, 2012

An oh do merry Christmas for you!!

December 22, 2012

beautiful…thanks for the pics. hugs p

December 22, 2012

xx

December 26, 2012

Liked to read about your trip and watch the photo’s. On the last one you sure had eyes on the lady, noticing that horizon. 😉